Discover IEEE Computer Society Standards Activities

Learn more about the Standards Activities Board, Standards Committees, and more.

About Standards

The Computer Society is home to 205 active technical standards. The Computer Society recognizes that standards fuel the development and implementation of technologies that influence and transform the way we live, work, and communicate.

The Computer Society strongly supports the development of new technical standards to reflect the continuous creation of new practices and technologies. Seventeen Computer Society standards committees and their working groups are currently developing almost 200 new standards.


Sponsored Standards

Get Involved with Existing Standards

Through our standards committees, individuals and companies can play a leading role in the development of standards that impact our industry. We encourage you to get involved with existing standards. Check out a call for participation. Or contact a standards committee chair to learn more about how to join or start a working group in an area of interest.



How to Start a New Standards Committee or Working Group

The Computer Society encourages creation of new committees or working groups when there is a need for an idea or concept to be standardized. Each Computer Society Standards Committee assumes responsibility for a particular standards idea within its technical scope and manages standards development and revision efforts. Contact the chair of a standards committee of interest to start work in a specific technical area.

The SAB Standards Committee manages standards development projects that are under the purview of the Computer Society and for which no existing standards committee is appropriate (e.g. for new lines of work or for standards for which a viable standards committee has not been identified). The SAB Standards Committee Chair can provide more information about how to initiate new projects.

IEEE SA Guidance about Standards Development provides more details about the steps in the standards development process.



Standards Activities Board Webinar Series

A FREE webinar series highlighting the IEEE Computer Society’s 250+ active standards that have transformed daily life around the world. View Series


Standards Activities Board

The mission of the IEEE Computer Society Standards Activities Board (SAB) is to encourage Computer Society members to participate in standardization activities, to promote the use of IEEE standards, and to develop useful products that leverage IEEE standards within the scope of the Computer Society. SAB also fosters industry participation and engagement. SAB policies and procedures provide additional information about SAB responsibilities and structure.


2021 Standards Activities Board Members

Riccardo Mariani


SAB Chair
Riccardo Mariani, NVIDIA
VP of Standards Activities Board




  • Vice Chair: Ritu Sethi, NVIDIA
  • Secretary: Debbie T. Brown, Eduworks
  • President, ex officio member: Forrest Shull, SEI CMU

Committee Chairs

  • Policies & Procedures: Edward Au, Huawei Technologies Canada
  • Vitality Committee: Annette Reilly, Lockheed Martin (retired)
  • SAB Standards Committee Chair: Robby Robson, Eduworks
  • Industry Engagement Chair: Kunio Uchiyama, Hitachi (retired)


SAB Standards Committee Chair: Robby Robson, Eduworks

  • Michael Montemurro, Blackberry
  • Jon Rosdahl, Qualcomm
  • Stan Krolikoski, Cadence Design Systems

Standards Committee Chairs

  • Artificial Intelligence (AISC): Ansgar Koene, The University of Nottingham
  • Blockchain and Distributed Ledgers: Ming Li, China Electronics Standardization Institute (CESI)
  • Cloud Computing: Steve Diamond
  • Cybersecurity & Privacy: Eric Hibbard, Samsung Semiconductor Inc.
  • Data Compression: Feng Wu, University of Science and Technology, China
  • Design Automation: Dennis Brophy, Siemens EDA
  • Learning Technology: Richard Tong, Squirrel AI Learning
  • Local Area Networks/Metropolitan Area Networks (LAN/MAN IEEE 802): Paul Nikolich, self-affiliated
  • Microprocessor (MSC): Ralph Baker Kearfoot, University of Louisiana at Lafayette
  • Online Gaming (OGSC): Alicia Nie, Tencent
  • Portable Applications POSIX (PASC): Joseph Gwinn, Raytheon
  • Simulation Interoperability (SISC/SAC): David Ronnfeldt, Australian Department of Defense
  • Smart Manufacturing: Sha Wei, China Electronics Standardization Institute (CESI)
  • Software & Systems Engineering (S2ESC): Edward Addy, Northrup Grumman
  • Test Technology (TTSC): Ian McIntosh, Leonardo

Representatives to External Organizations

  • ISO/IEC JTC1 SC7 Software & Systems Engineering: Annette Reilly, Lockheed Martin (retired)
  • ISO/IEC/JTC 1/SC27 Computing Security: Eric Hibbard, Samsung Semiconductor Inc.
  • ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC38: Eric Hibbard, Samsung Semiconductor Inc.
  • ISO/IEC JWG16: Annette Reilly, Lockheed Martin (retired)

Liaisons to IEEE Committees

  • John Sheppard – SCC 20
  • Pat Thaler – IEEE-SA RAC


  • IEEE Computer Society Staff Support: Brian Kirk
  • IEEE SA Staff: Jonathan Goldberg



Inside the Computer Society