Hans Karlsson Standards Award

NOMINATE  |  Nomination Questions (pdf)  |  Open Nominations (pdf)

Karlsson Award

Deadline for 2019 Nominations: 1 October 2019

The award nomination requires a minimum of 3 endorsements. 

Established in 1992 in memory of Hans Karlsson, chairman and father of the IEEE 1301 family of standards. A plaque and $2,000 honorarium is presented in recognition of outstanding skills and dedication to diplomacy, team facilitation and joint achievement, in the development or promotion of standards in the computer industry where individual aspirations, corporate competition, and organizational rivalry could otherwise be counter to the benefit of society. Eligibility is limited to present or past participants in IEEE CS Standards activities.

Learn more about Hans Karlsson.



2018 Jeff Rearick For his vision, extraordinary skills and dedication in leading, shaping, and promoting the IEEE 1687 standard that provides access to embedded semiconductor instrumentation.
2016 David Law For his contributions and leadership as Working Group officer and Chair of 802.3, and service in governance, educational, and regional activities.
2015 Francois Coallier For leadership in the development of the theory and practice of international software and systems engineering standards.
2014 Annette D. Reilly For harmonization and development of novel approaches to the system and software engineering standards for vocabulary, life-cycle information, and user documentation.
2013 Brian G. Kiernan For extraordinary skill and dedication in chairing the complex task groups that developed the IEEE 802.16a, 802.16e, and 802.16m WirelessMAN standards, including the world's first 4G broadband standard.
2012 Paul R. Croll For dedicated leadership of the IEEE Systems and Software Engineering Standards Committee, and for his diplomacy and collaboration in facilitating the development of a collection of high-quality standards.
2011 Arthur W. Astrin For leadership and diplomatic skills applied to LAN/MAN wireless personal area network standards; mediating rivalry of corporate entities and personal aspirations by promoting the value of IEEE wireless standards-based approaches.
2009 James W. Moore For charting the road maps and leading the harmonization of IEEE and ISO systems and software engineering standards.
2007 Katherine L. Morse For leadership in development of modeling and simulation standards and exemplary collaboration in establishing the Simulation Interoperability Standards Organization (SISO) Standards Activity Committee (SAC) as an IEEE standards sponsor.
2006 John L. (Jack) Cole For bringing together diverse interests with inspired leadership, dedication and vision in producing five storage system standards, and forming the first information assurance standards committee.
2005 Yervant Zorian For outstanding leadership, communications, and achievement with the IEEE Testability Method for Embedded Core-based ICs standard (IEEE Std. 1500tm-2005) through collaboration with major industry groups.
2004 David B. Gustavson For outstanding leadership in Standards and for your insight, organization, and political astuteness in bringing the Scalable Coherent Interface (SCI) (IEEE 1596-1992) to fruition, significantly advancing the art and science of scalable systems.
2002 H. Wayne Hodgins For your extraordinary leadership and vision that led to the first learning technology standard and that was instrumental in moving an entire industry to pursue a standards-based rather than a proprietary approach.
2001 Victor Hayes For your dedication to the advancement of technologies and their use in a wide area of segments, markets, and applications benefiting all our lives.
1996 Leonard L. Tripp For your long-term service and leadership of the IEEE Computer Society Software Engineering Committee (SESC) and related activities.
1995 Roger Martin For leadership in timely completion of test methods which assure quality and dependability for the standards customer, completeness for the portable app builder and consensus to the whole community.
1994 James D. Isaak For outstanding leadership and achievement through collaboration.



2018 Hans Karlsson Award Committee Chair

François Coallier
École de technologie supérieure (ÉTS)


(Must sign in with your free IEEE account)

Deadline for 2020 Award Nominations: 1 October 2019



IEEE CS Honors François Coallier of ÉTS for Contributions to International Standards Development

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 16 April 2015 – François Coallier, a professor and CIO at the École de technologie supérieure (ÉTS), has been named the recipient of IEEE Computer Society’s 2015 Hans Karlsson Award in recognition of his contributions to international standards development. 
Coallier has been involved in software and systems engineering standards development since 1984 when he joined the working group working on the first version of the IEEE Software Verification and Validation standards. He participated in the development of other IEEE software engineering standards before being appointed as Secretary of the Joint ISO and IEC subcommittee for Software and Systems Engineering Standards (ISO/IEC JTC1/SC7) in 1993.  He then became the international chairman of this subcommittee in 1997, a position he is still holding. 
He was also the convener of the ISO/IEC JTC 1 Special Working Group for Technology Watch on international IT standardization from 2002 to 2007 and the Secretary of its study group on Web Services from 2002 to 2008. 
Coallier was recognized “for leadership in the development of the theory and practice of international software and systems engineering standards.”
ÉTS is one of Canada’s leading engineering schools, affiliated with the Université du Québec network. Coallier was the founding chair of ÉTS' Department of Software and IT Engineering from its creation in 2004 until 2010.
With more than two decades of industrial experience in one of Canada's largest companies, Coallier has held various engineering and managerial positions in engineering, quality engineering, IT procurement, IT infrastructure deployment and operation, and IT enterprise architecture management. 
He is a Senior IEEE Member, an IEEE Computer Society Golden Core Member, and a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.
Established by the Computer Society in 1992 in memory of Hans Karlsson, father of the IEEE 1301 family of standards, the award comes with a plaque and $2,000 honorarium. It is presented in recognition of outstanding skills and diplomacy, team facilitation and joint achievement, in the promotion of computer standards where individual aspirations, corporate competition, and organizational rivalry could otherwise be counter to society’s benefit.
For more information on IEEE Computer Society awards, visit http://www.computer.org/awards.


About IEEE Computer Society

IEEE Computer Society is the world's leading computing membership organization and the trusted information and career-development source for a global workforce of technology leaders including: professors, researchers, software engineers, IT professionals, employers, and students. The unmatched source for technology information, inspiration, and collaboration, the IEEE Computer Society is the source that computing professionals trust to provide high-quality, state-of-the-art information on an on-demand basis. The Computer Society provides a wide range of forums for top minds to come together, including technical conferences, publications, and a comprehensive digital library, unique training webinars, professional training, and the TechLeader Training Partner Program to help organizations increase their staff's technical knowledge and expertise, as well as the personalized information tool myComputer. To find out more about the community for technology leaders, visit http://www.computer.org.