IEEE Computer Society Election Opens 05 August 2019

Share this on:

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 05 August 2019 – Voting for IEEE Computer Society (IEEE CS) candidates for president-elect, first and second vice presidents, and Board of Governors members will begin on Monday, 05 August 2019.

Only IEEE CS members without an email address in their member record, or those who have opted out of IEEE email communications, will receive a paper ballot package. Those who receive paper ballots should return them by mail using the business reply envelope provided, or to IEEE Technical Activities, Attn: SGA, 445 Hoes Lane, PO Box 1331, Piscataway, NJ 08855-1331, USA.

All other members will receive a broadcast email message with voting instructions to access their web ballot package information. Members in all regions can vote online at the IEEE-CS election site. For replacement ballots or to request a paper ballot, call +1-732-562-3904 or email

Click here to submit your vote today.

Officers are elected to one-year terms and Board members to three-year terms, each beginning 1 January 2020. Candidate bios and position statements will be published in the August issue of Computer magazine, which is distributed to all IEEE CS members.

Candidates for president-elect:

Sumi Helal and Forrest Shull will be on the ballot for 2020 president-elect and 2021 president. The president serves as the chief elected officer of the IEEE CS, representing the entire membership. The president, under the direction of the Board of Governors, provides direction for IEEE CS officers and Society programs, and is responsible for the general supervision of the Society. The president serves one year as president-elect, one year as president, and one year as past president.

Dr. Sumi Helal is a professor and chair in digital health in the School of Computing and Communications at Lancaster University. He served as the editor-in-chief of Computer from 2015-2018, and has chaired over 25 conferences, including 12 IEEE-sponsored conferences. He has been a member of the IEEE CS Board of Governors since 2017 and currently chairs the Publications Board’s Magazine Operations Committee. Helal is a Boilermaker (Ph.D. 1991, Purdue University), Fellow of the IEEE, Fellow of the Institute of Engineering and Technology, and IEEE CS Golden Core recipient.

Dr. Forrest Shull is assistant director for empirical research at Carnegie Mellon University’s Software Engineering Institute (SEI). He served as the editor-in-chief of IEEE Software from 2011-2014, and currently serves as the associate editor of IEEE Transactions on Software Engineering. He has served in leadership roles for IEEE conferences, including ICSE, ESEM, and STC. A member of the IEEE CS Board of Governors since 2015, he has also served on the Executive Committee since 2016. He is an IEEE Senior Member and an IEEE CS Golden Core Member.

Candidates for first and second vice presidents:

Candidates for 2020 first vice president are Riccardo Mariani and Avi Mendelson. Riccardo Mariani recently joined Nvidia as Vice President of Industry Safety, and formerly served as chief functional safety technologist in the Internet of Things Group at Intel Corporation. He is an Intel Fellow, IEEE Senior Member and 2019 vice president of the IEEE CS Standards Activities Board.   Avi Mendelson currently serves as second vice president of the IEEE CS and Transactions Operations Committee chair, is an IEEE Fellow, and a visiting professor at the Technion–Israel Institute of Technology and at Nanyang Technological University, Singapore.

The 2020 second vice president candidates are Sy-Yen Kuo and Fabrizio Lombardi. Sy-Yen Kuo serves as the IEEE CS vice treasurer, finance chair of the Publications Board, member of the IEEE CS Board of Governors, and is an IEEE Fellow and Golden Core Member. He holds the Pegatron Chair Professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering at National Taiwan University. Fabrizio Lombardi is serving as the IEEE CS vice president for publications, and is a member of the IEEE Publication Services and Products Board, an IEEE Fellow, and IEEE CS Golden Core Award recipient. He is the International Test Conference Endowed Chair at the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Northeastern University.

The first and second vice presidents serve as franchised members of the Executive Committee, Board of Governors, and Planning Committee. The vice presidents may execute a portfolio as assigned by the president, and provide counsel and assistance to the president and other volunteer leaders. In the event that the president and president-elect cannot serve, the line of succession falls to the first vice president, then to the second vice president.

Candidates for 2020–2022 terms for the IEEE CS Board of Governors:

Nils Aschenbruck, University of Osnabrueck, Germany

Saurabh Bagchi, Purdue University in West Lafayette, Indiana

Rama Chellappa, University of Maryland

Ernesto Cuadros-Vargas, School of Computer Science at Universidad Católica San Pablo, Peru

David S. Ebert, Purdue University

Vladimir Getov, University of Westminster

William D. Gropp, National Center for Supercomputing Applications

Shi-Min Hu, Tsinghua University

Grace Lewis, Carnegie Mellon Software Engineering Institute (SEI)

Hausi Müller, University of Victoria

Stefano Zanero, Politecnico di Milano

Members may vote for up to six candidates for the IEEE CS Board of Governors.

All professional and graduate student IEEE CS members on record as of 30 June 2019 are eligible to vote in this year’s IEEE CS election. (Undergraduate student members do not hold voting rights.)

Ballots must be returned no later than 5:00 p.m. EDT USA/21:00 UTC on Monday, 23 September 2019. Results will be announced in Computer’s December issue and online.


About IEEE Computer Society

The IEEE Computer Society is the premier source for information, inspiration, and collaboration in computer science and engineering. Connecting members worldwide, the Computer Society empowers the people who advance technology by delivering tools for individuals at all stages of their professional careers. Its trusted resources include international conferences, peer-reviewed publications, a robust digital library, globally recognized standards, and continuous learning opportunities. Visit for more information.