IEEE Computer Society Announces Recipients of 2024 Computer Pioneer Award

Announces Recipients of 2024 Computer Pioneer Award
Published 04/01/2024
Share this on:

Computer Pioneer Award Winners

Fei-Fei Li and Leonard Kleinrock Recognized for Groundbreaking Contributions to Computer Vision and Computer Networking

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 1 April 2024 – Today, the IEEE Computer Society (IEEE CS) announced the recipients of the 2024 Computer Pioneer Award, which recognizes and honors those whose long-standing efforts have resulted in the advancement and continued vitality of the computer industry. This year, the “IEEE Computer Society Computer Pioneer Award in honor of the Women of ENIAC” recognized two individuals: Fei-Fei Li, Sequoia Professor, Computer Science Department, Stanford University and Co-Director of Stanford’s Human-Centered AI Institute; and Leonard Kleinrock, Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Computer Science, UCLA Henry Samueli School of Engineering and Applied Science and IEEE Life Fellow.

IEEE CS is recognizing Li for leading efforts in visual recognition based on machine learning techniques and insights from human perception. She is most widely known for establishing ImageNet, the dataset that enabled rapid advancements in computer vision, but also has broad acclaim for her role in developing other influential datasets, including Caltech 101 and Visual Genome. She is also credited, along with others, for her part in recognizing and promoting the role of “Big Data” in computer vision.

The society is honoring Kleinrock for his work on the mathematical theory of packet switching, which was fundamental to the creation of the Internet. His early publications on packet switching established that computer networks could use packets, rather than circuits, and provided the tools future generations of engineers used to model, measure, and evaluate computer and communication systems.

“We are thrilled to recognize Drs. Li and Kleinrock as the recipients of the 2024 Computer Pioneer Award,” said Jyotika Athavale, 2024 IEEE CS President. “Their contributions to the fields of computer vision and computer networking have been transformative, serving as a foundation for today’s innovations and tomorrow’s possibilities. Their work embodies the spirit of the award and represents the continued significance of this community.”

The “IEEE Computer Society Computer Pioneer Award in Honor of the Women of ENIAC” was established in 1981 by the IEEE CS Board of Governors to recognize and honor the vision of those whose efforts resulted in the creation and continued vitality of the computer industry. The award acknowledges outstanding individuals for significant contributions to concepts and developments that have, over the course of 15 or more years, clearly advanced the state of the art in computing. Past recipients of the award include: Scott Shenker, Daniel Bricklin, Daphne Koller, Jack Dongarra, Demetri Terzopoulos, Laura Haas, Jitendra Malik, Barbara Liskov, Bjarne Stroustrup, Michael Flynn, Peter Kogge, and Linus Torvalds. Further information about the award, including a complete list of past recipients, can be found at

About the IEEE Computer Society

Engaging computer engineers, scientists, academia, and industry professionals from all areas and levels of computing, the IEEE Computer Society (CS) serves as the world’s largest and most established professional organization of its type. IEEE CS sets the standard for the education and engagement that fuels continued global technological advancement. Through conferences, publications, and programs that inspire dialogue, debate, and collaboration, IEEE CS empowers, shapes, and guides the future of not only its nearly 400,000 community members, but the greater industry, enabling new opportunities to better serve our world. Visit for more information.