IEEE Computer Society Announces 2024 Class of Fellow

Published 11/30/2023
Share this on:

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 30 November 2023 – Today the IEEE Computer Society (IEEE CS) announced that 47 IEEE CS members and 17 IEEE members evaluated by the IEEE CS Fellow Evaluation Committee will be elevated to IEEE Fellow grade in 2024. The grade of IEEE Fellow recognizes exceptional distinction in the engineering profession.

The IEEE Board of Directors elevated 323 members to Fellow status for 2024. IEEE CS members and associates recommended for Fellow status in 2024 include:

  • Sameer K Antani – for contributions to medical imaging research in high-morbidity disease screening
  • Terry V Benzel – for leadership in establishing the field of cybersecurity experimentation
  • Swarup Bhunia – for contributions to the design of secure and trustworthy microelectronic systems
  • Zhipeng Cai – for contributions to resource management and scheduling for high-performance computing
  • Enhong Chen – for contributions to context-aware data mining and recommender systems
  • Songqing Chen – for contributions to Internet streaming, content delivery, and security
  • Wen-Huang Cheng – for contributions to intelligent multimedia computing and applications
  • Bin Cui – for contributions to large-scale data management, processing and analytics
  • Sven J Dickinson – for contributions to shape representation, processing, and classification in computer vision
  • Xin Luna Dong – for contributions to knowledge graph construction and data integration
  • Junping Du – for contributions to modeling and intelligent analysis of big data
  • Niklas E Elmqvist – for contributions to mobile, ubiquitous, and immersive technologies for data visualization
  • Joan Feigenbaum – for contributions to trust-management systems and Internet algorithmics
  • Dan Feng – for contributions to data storage systems
  • Xinbo Gao – for contributions to hybrid augmented intelligence and image quality assessment
  • Reza Ghanadan – for leadership in robust artificial intelligence technologies and applications
  • Sergiu R Goma – for contributions to hardware implementation of image processing for color cameras in mobile phones
  • Maoguo Gong – for contributions to collaborative learning and optimization
  • Onur G. Guleryuz  for contributions to nonlinear approximation and sparsity-based signal processing
  • Qi He – for contributions to knowledge engineering and business applications
  • Tsung-Yi Ho – for contributions to design automation and test of microfluidic biochips
  • Shimin Hu – for contributions to computational visual media and geometric processing
  • Axel A Jantsch – for contributions to modeling and algorithms for Networks-on-Chip
  • Yu-Gang Jiang – for contributions to large-scale video analysis and open-source datasets
  • Alex K Jones – for contributions to sustainable computing
  • Yongdae Kim – for contributions to cellular and distributed system security
  • Hyesoon Kim – for contributions to resource modeling and partitioning in heterogeneous computing systems
  • Rakesh Kumar – for contributions to energy-efficient processor architecture and design
  • Ashish Kundu – for contributions to data security, privacy, and compliance in cloud systems
  • Benjamin C Lee – for contributions to the design of microprocessors with machine learning and game theory
  • Xiao-Li Li – for contributions to machine learning models
  • Zhiqiang Lin – for contributions to automated vulnerability discovery, code hardening, and monitoring in mobile and systems security
  • Hang Liu – for contributions to the development and standardization of wireless mesh networking and video streaming technologies
  • Chang-Tien Lu – for contributions to spatial informatics and urban computing
  • Huchuan Lu – for contributions to visual object tracking and salient object detection
  • Siwei Ma – for contributions to video coding technologies and standards
  • Bradley A Malin – for contributions to data engineering, privacy, and security in biomedicine
  • Klaus D Mueller – for contributions to image reconstruction and visualization
  • Max Muhlhauser – for contributions to distributed software engineering
  • Dimitrios S Nikolopoulos – for contributions to dynamic execution environments and multiprocessor memory management
  • Gopal C Pandurangan – for contributions to theory and algorithms for distributed computing and networks
  • Bijaya Ketan Panigrahi – for design of intelligent tools for power quality improvement and MPPT for solar energy systems
  • Sri Parameswaran  for contributions to embedded computer circuits and systems
  • Sudeep Pasricha – for contributions to design and optimization of chip-scale communication architectures for manycore computing
  • Ioannis Pavlidis – for contributions to contact-free physiological measurements and affective computing
  • Denys Poshyvanyk – for contributions to integrating software analyses and machine learning
  • Vijay Raghunathan – for contributions to design of low power and energy harvesting embedded systems
  • Narendran Ramakrishnan – for contributions to algorithms and systems for event modeling and forecasting
  • Rajiv Ranjan – for contributions to quality-of-service-aware resource management in cloud computing systems and big data analytics
  • Larry J Rosenblum – for leadership in developing mobile augmented reality and visualization, and in visual analytics
  • Karthikeyan Sankaralingam – for contributions to identifying and mitigating the challenges of dark silicon
  • Jianbing Shen – for contributions to computer vision for video analysis and visual understanding
  • Forrest J Shull – for contributions to software engineering research
  • Padhraic J Smyth – for contributions to machine learning and data science
  • Karin Strauss – for contributions to storage systems
  • Yufei Tao – for contributions to large-scale data processing
  • Zhi Wei – for contributions to knowledge discovery from biological data
  • Bin Xiao – for contributions to wireless and system security
  • Jing Xiao – for contributions to the multiple modality knowledge mining technologies
  • Wenyuan Xu – for contributions to embedded systems for automobile security
  • Hengyong Yu – for contributions to tomographic image reconstruction
  • Hao Zhang – for contributions to shape analysis and synthesis in visual computing
  • Fumin Zhang – for contributions to autonomy of robotic sensing networks and control of marine robots
  • Sheng Zhong – for contributions to incentive-compatible and privacy-preserving mechanisms in distributed systems

The Board of Directors confers the title of Fellow upon a person of outstanding and extraordinary qualifications and experience in IEEE-designated fields, who has made important individual contributions to one or more of those fields.

To view the full list of the 2024 Fellow Class, learn about the process, or nominate a senior member, visit the Fellow website at

To view the current 2023 IEEE Computer Society Fellow Evaluating Committee or past Fellow Class lists elevated by the IEEE Computer Society Evaluating Committee, visit

At the time the nomination is submitted, a nominee must:

  • have accomplishments that have contributed importantly to the advancement or application of engineering, science and technology, bringing the realization of significant value to society;
  • hold Senior Member or Life Senior Member grade at the time the nomination is submitted;
  • have been a member in good standing in any grade for a period of five years or more preceding 1 January of the year of elevation.

The nominee cannot be a member of the IEEE Fellow Committee, an IEEE Society/Technical Council Fellow Evaluating Committee Chair, or a member of IEEE Society/Technical Council Fellow Evaluating Committees reviewing the nomination.