Larson Award Winners
The following people were awarded the Lance Stafford Larson Student Writing Award.



Elba Garza

Texas A&M University


James Meech

University of Cambridge


Swapnil Sayan Saha

University of California – Los Angeles



Gloris Cedeño

Universidad de Panamá


Gaurav Sethia

BMS Institute of Technology


Naveen Pasupuleti

Srm University




Huang and GoharshadyMingzhang Huang and Amir Kafshdar Goharshady

Shanghai Jiao Tong University and Institute of Science and Technology Austria (IST Austria)

Mingzhang Huang, a Ph.D. student at Shanghai Jiao Tong University, and Amir Kafshdar Goharshadya Ph.D. student at the Institute of Science and Technology, Austria, won first place with a paper “Modular Verification for Almost-Sure Termination of Probabilistic Programs” that considers the important and classical problem of finding automated proofs for almost-sure termination of probabilistic programs. More specifically, the paper examines modular approaches for proving termination.


Raghavendra_Pradyumna_PothukuchiRaghavendra Pradyumna Pothukuchi

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Raghavendra Pradyumna Pothukuchi is a graduate student at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He took second place for the paper “Tangram: Integrated Control of Heterogeneous Computers,” which developed the fundamental insights to build the future control frameworks for resource-efficient heterogeneous and warehouse-scale computers. The paper addresses a serious problem in the computer industry and develops a new solution that substantially advances the state of the art.


Omer Melih GulOmer Melih Gul

Middle East Technical University (METU), Ankara, Turkey

Omer Melih Gul, Ph.D. candidate at Middle East Technical University (METU), Turkey, received third place for the paper, which investigates a scheduling problem in a wireless sensor network where a fusion center collects data from the low-power energy harvesting sensors some of which may have insufficient energy for transmission in some time intervals. The paper proposes Uniforming Random Ordered Policy (UROP) to reduce the time and energy consumption of the sensors in the IoT era.




Xiangjun PengXiangjun Peng

The University of Nottingham Ningbo China

An undergraduate student from the University of Nottingham Ningbo China, Xiangjun Peng took the undergraduate prize with the paper “Succinct Representations in Collaborative Filtering: A Case Study using Wavelet Tree on 1,000 Cores.” The paper took the case study of Succinct Representations in Collaborative Filtering, rather than using a U-I Matrix to examine Succinct Data Structures as a new infrastructure of CF.



  • Sai Thejeshwar, India
  • Amir Kafshdar Goharshady, Austria, and Nastaran Okati, Iran


  • Artur Luis Fernandes de Souza, Brazil
  • Davide Quarta, Italy


  • Ahnaf Rashik Hassan, Bangladesh


  • Pawel  Karol Frankowski, West Pomeranian University of Technology, Szczecin, Poland


  • Diego Mamsoler, Free University of Bozen,  Italy
  • Forest Iandola, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, United States


  • Spencer Prost, Arizona State University, United States


  • Raihan Masud Khulna, University of Engineering and Technology, Bangladesh


  • Jonathan Villianueva Tavira, Centro Nacional de Ivest y Desarrollo Tecnologia, Mexico


  • Akin Gunay, Eastern Mediterranean University, Turkey
  • Haitham Kaddoura, American Univesity of Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
  • Rania Azhar Malik, Fatima Jinnah Women University, Pakistan


  • Bhavin Jayprakash Shastri, McGill University, Canada
  • Haitham M Kaddoura, American Univesity of Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
  • V.V. Balaji Viswanath, Thiagarjar College of Engineering, India


  • Kalyana Sundaram, Thiagarjar College of Engineering, India


  • B.I.P. Rubinstein, University of Melbourne, Australia


  • Sung-Won Chung, Pusan National University, Korea
  • Kevin James O’mara, Jr., Loyola College of Maryland, United States


  • Gaurav Tewari, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, United States
  • Javed Asghar, University of Missouri, United States
  • Bob Little, DeVry Insitute, Calgary, Canada


  • Daniel Keefe, Tufts University, United States
  • Guido Pennella, University of Rome, Italy


  • Showbhik Kalra, Nanyang Technological Unversity, Singapore
  • Gim Soon Wan, Merrimack College, United States
  • Kasra Haghighi, Ferdowsi University of Mashhad, Iran


  • Jonathan Becker


  • Vikas Sethi, Insitute of Technology, India


  • Wu-chun Feng


  • Bill Davenport