Eckert Mauchly ImageThe Eckert-Mauchly Award recognizes outstanding contributions to computer and digital systems architecture.

The award was named for John Presper Eckert and John William Mauchly, who collaborated on the design and construction of the Electronic Numerical Integrator and Computer (ENIAC), the first large-scale computing machine, which was completed in 1947.

Nomination Deadline: 30 March 2016 

The award nomination requires a minimum of 3 endorsements.

A certificate and $5,000 are awarded jointly by the ACM and the Computer Society for outstanding contributions to the field of computer and digital systems architecture.

Eckert-Mauchly Award - Past Recipients


Norman P. Jouppi

For pioneering contributions to the design and analysis of high-performance processors and memory systems.



Trevor Mudge

For pioneering contributions to low power computer architecture and its interaction with technology.



James R. Goodman

For pioneering contributions to the architecture of shared-memory multiprocessors.



Algirdas Avizienis

For fundamental contributions to fault-tolerant computer architecture and computer arithmetic.



Gurindar (Guri) S. Sohi

For pioneering widely used micro-architectural techniques for instruction-level parallelism.



William J. Dally

For outstanding contributions to the architecture of interconnection networks and parallel computers.



Joel S. Emer

For pioneering contributions to performance analysis and modeling methodologies; for design innovations in several significant industry microprocessors; and for deftly bridging research and development, academia and industry.


David A. Patterson

For seminal contributions to RISC microprocessor architectures, RAID storage systems design, and reliable computing, and for leadership in education and in disseminating academic research results into successful industrial products.


Mateo Valero

For extraordinary leadership in building a world class computer architecture research center, for seminal contributions in the areas of vector computing and multithreading, and for pioneering basic new approaches to instruction-level parallelism.


James H. Pomerene

For pioneering innovations in computer architecture, including early concepts in cache, reliable memories, pipelining and branch prediction, for the design of the IAS computer and for the design of the Harvest supercomputer.


Robert P. Colwell

For outstanding achievements in the design and implementation of industry-changing micro-architectures, and for significant contributions to the RISC/CISC architecture debate.


Frederick P. Brooks, Jr.

For the definition of computer architecture and contributions to the concept of computer families and to the principles of instruction set design; for seminal contributions in instruction sequencing, including interrupt systems and execute instructions; and for contributions to the IBM 360 instruction set architecture.


Joseph A. (Josh) Fisher

In recognition of 25 years of seminal contributions to instruction-level parallelism, pioneering work on VLIW architectures, and the formulation of the Trace Scheduling compilation technique.


B. Ramakrishna (Bob) Rau

For pioneering contributions to statically-scheduled instruction-level parallel processors and their compilers.



John L. Hennessy

For being the founder and chief architect of the MIPS Computer Systems and contributing to the development of the landmark MIPS R2000 microprocessor.



Edward S. Davidson

For seminal contributions to the design, implementation, and performance evaluation of high performance pipelines and multiprocessor systems.


James E. Smith

For fundamental contributions to high performance micro-architecture, including saturating counters for branch prediction, reorder buffers for precise exceptions, decoupled access/execute architectures, and vector supercomputer organization memory, and interconnects.


Tadashi Watanabe

For contributions to the architectural design of supercomputers with multiple/parallel vector pipelines and programmable vector caches.


Robert Tomasulo

For the ingenious Tomasulo's algorithm, which enabled out-of-order execution processors to be implemented.


Yale N. Patt

For important contributions to instruction level parallelism and superscalar processor design.


John H. Crawford

In recognition of your impact on the computer industry through your development of microprocessor technology.


James E. Thornton

For his pioneering work on high performance processors; for inventing the scoreboard for instruction issue; and for fundamental contributions to vector supercomputing.


David Kuck

For his impact on the field of supercomputing, including his work in shared memory multiprocessing, clustered memory hierarchies, compiler technology, and application/library tuning.


Michael J. Flynn

For his important and seminal contributions to processor organization and classification, computer arithmetic and performance evaluation.


Burton Smith

For pioneering work in the design and implementation of scalable shared memory multiprocessors.


Kenneth Batcher

For contributions to parallel computer architecture, both for pioneering theories in interconnection networks and for the pioneering implementations of parallel computers.


Seymour Cray

For a career of achievements that have advanced supercomputer design.


Daniel P. Siewiorek

For outstanding contributions in parallel computer architecture, reliability, and computer architecture education.


Gene M. Amdahl

For outstanding innovations in computer architecture, including pipelining, instruction look- ahead and cache memory.


Harvey G. Cragon

For major contributions to computer architecture and for pioneering the application of integrated circuits for computer purposes and for serving as architect of the Texas Instruments scientific computer and for playing a leading role in many other computing developments in that company.


John Cocke

For contributions to high performance computer architecture through look ahead, parallelism and pipeline utilization, and to reduced instruction set computer architecture through the exploitation of hardware-software tradeoffs and compiler optimization.


Jack B. Dennis



Tom Kilburn



C. Gordon Bell



Wesley A. Clark



Maurice V. Wilkes



Robert S. Barton


2016 Eckert-Mauchly Subcommittee Chair

Antonio Gonzalez


Next Deadline for 2016 nominations: 30 March 2016

Nominations Are Being Sought for Eckert-Mauchly Award

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 5 February 2015 – Nominations are being accepted for the Eckert-Mauchly Award, which recognizes high-impact achievements in computer and digital systems architecture. The Eckert Mauchly Award, co-sponsored by ACM and IEEE Computer Society since 1979, is known as the computer architecture community's most prestigious award. The nomination deadline is 30 March. To make a nomination, visit
The award was named for John Presper Eckert and John William Mauchly, who collaborated on the design and construction of the Electronic Numerical Integrator and Computer (ENIAC), the pioneering large-scale electronic computing machine, which was completed in 1947.
The award comes with a $5,000 prize and will be presented at the International Symposium on Computer Architecture (ISCA) which will be held 13-17 June in Portland, Oregon. To register, visit Previous Eckery-Mauchly recipients include Trevor Mudge, James R. Goodman, Algirdas Avizienis, Gurindar (Guri) S. Sohi, William J. Dally, Joel S. Emer, David A. Patterson, Mateo Valero, and others.
For the full list of recipients, visit