Lance Stafford Larson Student Award

Best Student Paper Contest

In 1983, the Lance Stafford Larson Award was established by the Larson family in memorial for their son, who died in an electrical accident while an undergraduate at the University of Maryland. The Larson family, which includes IEEE Past President Robert Larson, created this award to encourage students to develop excellence in their communication skills and to motivate students toward achievement in the field of Computer Science. One award of $500 is given each year to the first place winner. First, second, and third place winners also receive a certificate of commendation and free IEEE Computer Society student membership for one year.  Current members will have their membership extended by one year. The prize is awarded to the best paper. In case of multiple authors, the prize will be divided among the student authors.

Deadline: October 31 of each year.

Who is Eligible?

All undergraduate and graduate students. There will be one award for undergraduates and a second for graduate students.


This award is presented for the best student paper. Papers (of no more than 20 pages) concerning computer related subjects and presented at a computer related conference or publication are eligible. Papers will be judged on technical content, writing skill, and overall presentation. The project should be primarily the work of the student or students, not that of a larger team composed of professionals with the support of students. A minimum GPA of 3.0 is required.

How to Apply?

Complete the application questions below and submit it, along with a PDF file of your entry to: Eric Berkowitz, Membership Director, IEEE Computer Society.

Computer Society Lance Stafford Larson Award Application

Include with the following information one PDF version of your paper for competition.

1. Full Name

2.Current telephone number and email (if available)

3.Permanent mailing address

4. Name and address of academic institution

5. Title of paper

6. Brief statement of why you believe your paper is worthy of this award

Past Winners

2016 Not Awarded

2015 Ahnaf Rashik Hassan

         Runners Up: Gia Bianchi and Patrick Bakhtiani