IEEE Computer Society Names Technical Achievement Winners

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 25 March, 2010 – Five technologists who have made outstanding and innovative contributions to the fields of computer and information science and engineering or computer technology will be recipients of 2010 IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Awards.
The recipients are:
• Venu Govindaraju, for pioneering contributions to handwriting recognition systems; 
• Tyrone Grandison, for pioneering contributions to secure and private data management; 
• Eunice Santos, for pioneering contributions to computational social network systems;
• Ashok N. Srivastava, for pioneering contributions to intelligent information systems; and
• Hongjiang Zhang, for pioneering contributions to multimedia content analysis systems.
Govindaraju is a Distinguished Professor of Computer Science and Engineering at State University of New York, Buffalo. He received his B-Tech (Honors) from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, and his PhD from SUNY-Buffalo. Govindaraju has authored more than 300 scientific papers and supervised the dissertation of 20 doctoral students. His seminal work in handwriting recognition was at the core of the first handwritten address interpretation system used by the US Postal Service. He is an IEEE, ACM, and International Association of Pattern Recognition (IAPR) Fellow.
Grandison is the program manager for Core Healthcare Services in the Healthcare Transformation team of IBM’s Services Research organization. He was formerly the manager of the Intelligent Information Systems team at IBM Almaden Research Center. The team has pioneered research in data privacy and security coherence, RFID data management, privacy-preserving mobile data management, and text analytics. The team has explored novel concepts in content management, storage systems, and healthcare management systems. Grandison received his PhD from Imperial College, London, his master’s and bachelor’s degrees from the University of the West Indies, Jamaica, and has published extensively in the area of secure data management.
Santos is a leading expert and researcher in the areas of large-scale distributed processing, computational modeling, complex adaptive systems, and human modeling with applications to the biological, physical, and social sciences. She was named chair of the University of Texas at El Paso Department of Computer Science after serving as a Senior Research Fellow at the US Department of Defense’s Center for Technology and National Security Policy. She is also the Director of the National Center for Border Security and Immigration and the Director of the Center for Defense Systems Research.
She was a faculty member at Virginia Tech and Lehigh University. She earned her PhD in computer science from UC Berkeley. Santos has received numerous awards, including a National Science Foundation Career Award, the Spira Award for Excellence in Teaching, and the Robinson Faculty Award. She is a past member of the IDA/DARPA Defense Science Study Group, and a member of several DoD senior technical advisory committees. She has served as a member of the NATO Research & Technology Organization Task Group on Psycho-Social Models and Methods in NATO's Effects Based Approach to Operations.
Srivastava is the principal investigator for NASA’s Integrated Vehicle Health Management research project. The project’s goal is to develop technologies to detect, diagnose, predict, and mitigate adverse events during flight. Ashok is also the leader of the Intelligent Data Understanding group at NASA Ames Research Center.
He previously served as senior director of Blue Martini Software and as an IBM senior consultant. He has the recipient of the 2007 NASA Exceptional Achievement Medal, the NASA Distinguished Performance Award, several NASA Group Achievement Awards, the IBM Golden Circle Award, and the Department of Education Merit Fellowship.
Zhang is the managing director of Microsoft’s Advanced Technology Center in Beijing and CTO of the Microsoft Asia-Pacific Research and Development Group. Zhang was the assistant managing director of Microsoft Research Asia. Prior to joining Microsoft, he was a research manager at Hewlett-Packard Labs. He also worked at the National University of Singapore’s Institute of Systems Science.
Zhang has authored four books, more than 350 scientific papers, and holds more than 60 US patents. As an IEEE Fellow and ACM Fellow, he is well recognized for his leadership in media computing and his pioneering work in video and image content analysis, search and browsing. He is also the winner of the 2008 Asian American Engineers of the Year and Program Magazine’s 2007 China Software Men of the Year awards. Zhang received his PhD in electrical engineering from the Technical University of Denmark.
To be nominated for a Technical Achievement Award, the contributions must have been made in the past 10-15 years, and have significantly promoted technical progress in the field. The award consists of a certificate and $2,000 honorarium. The next nomination deadline is 15 October, 2010. For more information, visit

About IEEE Computer Society

IEEE Computer Society is the world’s leading membership organization for professionals in all aspects of modern computing – from cloud to big data, security to mobile, robotics to software defined systems, wearables to IoT. A true community for technology leaders, Computer Society provides resources to keep its members current in technology and moving forward in their professions – publications, a renowned digital library, a vast program of conferences, technical committees, and much more. The Computer Society also serves the profession at large through establishment of standards, professional qualifications and certifications, training and education programs, events on leading-edge technologies, conference publishing, and a wealth of other services and programs focused on advancing the science and art of computing. More information on IEEE Computer Society can be found at