Shmuel Shottan Named Chair of IEEE-CS Industry Advisory Board

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 20 November, 2012 – Shmuel Shottan, vice president of product operations and technology at Hitachi Data Systems, has been named chairman of the IEEE Computer Society Industry Advisory Board.
Shottan, who leads the development of file and scale-out storage systems and solutions at Hitachi, will serve a two-year term beginning in January. He replaces outgoing IAB Chair Harold Javid, director of External Research North America and Global Programs at Microsoft Research, who has been named to the IEEE Computer Society Board of Governors.
Shottan has been an IAB member since 2010. Before joining Hitachi, he was senior vice president and CTO of BlueArc, vice president and general partner of Quantum Technology Ventures, senior vice president of engineering and chief technical officer for Quantum's Snap Division, and senior vice president of engineering and chief technical officer of Parallan Computer. He has also held executive positions at AST Computers and ICL. Shottan has served on the advisory boards of several networking and storage startups, and is a board member of Overland Storage.
The IAB, which is composed of representatives from private industry, advises the IEEE Computer Society on useful programs for computer professionals working in industry.
Two programs so far have had their genesis with the IAB: the Corporate Affiliate Program, a new membership model that extends Computer Society education and training resources to employees; and the training webinar program, which connects companies' employees with useful training information from Computer Society experts.
Other IAB board members are:
• Avijit Biswas, senior vice president of Atos Origin;
• Nick Bowen, vice president of technology at IBM;
• Deborah Dunie, executive vice president and CTO of CACI International;
• Steven J. Hillenius, executive vice president and executive director of the Semiconductor Research Corp.;
• Stephen D. Huffman, vice president and CTO, MITRE (the IAB's first chair);
• Victor Manuel Cortes Galvan, program/project manager, Hewlett Packard;
• Cheryl McIntyre, director of software engineering at Lockheed Martin,
• Linda Rosenberg Wilbanks, director of IT Risk Management Group, US Department of Education;
•Ike Nassi, former executive vice president and chief scientist, SAP; and
• Neil Siegel, sector vice president, Technology and Advanced Systems, Northrop Grumman Information Systems.
The board currently has three vacancies. Technology company executives who are interested in being considered may contact Chris Ruoff, IEEE Computer Society senior manager of Sales and Channel Development at

About IEEE Computer Society

IEEE Computer Society is the world’s leading membership organization for professionals in all aspects of modern computing – from cloud to big data, security to mobile, robotics to software defined systems, wearables to IoT. A true community for technology leaders, Computer Society provides resources to keep its members current in technology and moving forward in their professions – publications, a renowned digital library, a vast program of conferences, technical committees, and much more. The Computer Society also serves the profession at large through establishment of standards, professional qualifications and certifications, training and education programs, events on leading-edge technologies, conference publishing, and a wealth of other services and programs focused on advancing the science and art of computing. More information on IEEE Computer Society can be found at