CS Members Elevated to Fellows

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif. , 7 December, 2010 – Sixty-one IEEE Computer Society members and associates will be elevated to IEEE Fellow grade in 2011. The grade of Fellow recognizes unusual distinction in the profession.
The IEEE Board of Directors elevated 321 members to Fellow status for 2011, compared with 309 last year. Computer Society members recommended for Fellow status in 2011 include:
• David Albonesi
• Ricardo Baeza-Yates
• Shuvra Bhattacharyya
• Francine Berman
• Michael Berthold
• Gaetano Borriello
• Wayne Burleson
• Guohong Cao
• Lori Clarke
• Michael Dahlin
• Daniel Dias
• Xiaoqing Ding
• Ajay Divakaran
• Miwako Doi
• Bruce Donald
• Tarek El-Ghazawi
• Bob Frankston
• Paul Gader
• Gregory Ganger
• Dan Hammerstrom
• Arun Hampapur
• Mary Jean Harrold
• Arun Iyengar
• Douglas Jacobson
• Laxmikant Kale
• Hillol Kargupta
• Stephen Keckler
• Tei-Wei Kuo
• Kai Li
• Chih-Jen Lin
• Jiming Liu
• Ahmed Louri
• Wei-Ying Ma
• Erik Jan Marinissen
• Stephen Maybank
• Kathryn McKinley
• Biswadip (Bobby)Mitra
• Dharmendra Modha
• Hermann Ney
• M. Tamer Ozsu
• Christof Paar
• Nikos Paragios
• Manish Parashar
• Balaji Prabhakar
• Donatella Sciuto
• Steven Seitz
• Neil Siegel
• Morris Sloman
• Guy Steele
• Qibin Sun
• Tanveer Syeda-Mahmood
• Kunio Uchiyama
• Prabhat Varma
• Narayanan Vijaykrishnan
• Chin-Long Wey
• Alexander Wolf
• Xindong Wu
• Guang-Zhong Yang
• Ellen Zegura
• Liang-Jie Zhang
• Song-Chun Zhu
The Board of Directors confers the title of Fellow upon a person of outstanding and extraordinary qualifications and experience in IEEE-designated fields, who has made important individual contributions to one or more of those fields. For more information, visit http://www.ieee.org/fellowprogram. To view the full list of Computer Society Fellows, go to http://www.ieee.org/web/membership/fellows/Societies/COMP.html.
At the time the nomination is submitted, a nominee must:
• have accomplishments that have contributed importantly to the advancement or application of engineering, science and technology, bringing the realization of significant value to society;
• hold Senior Member or Life Senior Member grade at the time the nomination is submitted; 
• have been a member in good standing in any grade for a period of five years or more preceding 1 January of the year of elevation.
The nominee cannot be a member of the IEEE Fellow Committee, an IEEE Society/Technical Council Fellow Evaluating Committee Chair, or a member of IEEE Society/Technical Council Fellow Evaluating Committees reviewing the nomination. In 2010, 74 Computer Society members were elevated to Fellow status.

About IEEE Computer Society

IEEE Computer Society is the world’s leading membership organization for professionals in all aspects of modern computing – from cloud to big data, security to mobile, robotics to software defined systems, wearables to IoT. A true community for technology leaders, Computer Society provides resources to keep its members current in technology and moving forward in their professions – publications, a renowned digital library, a vast program of conferences, technical committees, and much more. The Computer Society also serves the profession at large through establishment of standards, professional qualifications and certifications, training and education programs, events on leading-edge technologies, conference publishing, and a wealth of other services and programs focused on advancing the science and art of computing. More information on IEEE Computer Society can be found at www.computer.org.