Carl K. Chang

2004 IEEE Computer Society President

Carl K. ChangIEEE Computer Society logoCarl K. Chang was 2004 IEEE Computer Society President. Upon completing his presidency for the Computer Society, he was appointed to be the 2005 Chair of the IEEE Meetings and Services Committee reporting to the IEEE Board of Directors. He is currently serving as the Editor-in-Chief for IEEE Computer - flagship publication of the Computer Society. Previously he served as the Editor-in-Chief for IEEE Software (1991-94).

Chang is Professor and Chair of the Department of Computer Science at Iowa State University. He received a PhD in computer science from Northwestern University. He worked for GTE Automatic Electric and Bell Laboratories before joining the University of Illinois at Chicago in 1984, where he directed the International Center for Software Engineering. He served as Professor and Director for the Institute for Mobile, Pervasive, and Agile Computing Technologies (IMPACT) at Auburn University from 2001-2002, before moving to Iowa State University in July 2002.

His research interests include requirements engineering, software architecture, and net-centric computing, and he has published extensively in these areas. He is a founding member of the IEEE International Requirements Engineering Conference (RE). He has served on the steering committee of IEEE RE conferences and as general chair of ICRE2000 and RE'03. He is also the chair of the steering committee for the IEEE-CS/IPSJ International Symposium on Applications and the Internet (SAINT), having served as the program chair of SAINT2002 and general chair of SAINT2003. In 2005 he serves the General Chair for IEEE International Conference on Web Services (ICWS) and IEEE International Conference on Services Computing (SCC). Chang is also active in educational activities and spearheaded the Computing Curricula 2001 (CC2001) project jointly sponsored by the IEEE Computer Society, ACM, and the National Science Foundation.

He is Fellow of both IEEE and AAAS, and now serves on the Advisory Council of the Internet Society (ISOC). In 2006 he received the prestigious Marin Drinov Medal from the Bulgarian Academy of Sciences. He is also recipient of the prestigious 2006 IBM Faculty Award that was renewed in 2007 and 2009.

< Previous Next >