Leila De Floriani, a full professor at the University of Maryland at College Park, is voted the Society’s 2019 President-Elect (2020 President)

Share this on:

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 02 October 2018Leila De Floriani, a full professor at the University of Maryland at College Park and member of the IEEE Computer Society (IEEE-CS) Board of Governors, has been voted IEEE-CS 2019 President-Elect (2020 President).

De Floriani, a Fellow of IEEE and the International Association for Pattern Recognition (IAPR), Pioneer of the Solid Modeling Association, and editor in chief of IEEE Transactions on Visualization and Computer Graphics (TVGC), will serve as the 2020 IEEE-CS President for a one-year term beginning January 2020.

De Floriani garnered 3,741 votes, compared with 2,489 votes cast for William D. Gropp, director and chief scientist at the National Center for Supercomputing Applications (NCSA), who holds the Thomas M. Siebel Chair in the Department of Computer Science at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, and is a member of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors.

The President oversees IEEE-CS programs and operations and is a nonvoting member of most IEEE-CS program boards and committees. The 2018 election had a 15.37% turnout with 6,430 ballots cast. The percentage of turnout was higher than the 2017 election, which had a 12.87% turnout (5,684 ballots cast), and the 2016 election, which had a 12.69% turnout (6,357 ballots cast.)

Forrest Shull, associate director for empirical research at Carnegie Mellon University Software Engineering Institute (SEI), associate editor of IEEE Transactions of Software Engineering (TSE), IEEE Senior Member, and member of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors, was elected First Vice President with 3,174 votes.   Dennis J. Frailey, retired principal fellow from Raytheon Corporation, IEEE Senior Member, and member of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors serving as Second Vice President and Secretary, garnered 2,894 votes.

Avi Mendelson, visiting professor in the Departments of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering and head of the Hardware Security Lab at Technion, Israel, visiting professor in the Electrical and Electronic Engineering Department at Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, and member of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors, was elected as Second Vice President with 3,244 votes. Jon Rosdahl, senior staff engineer at Qualcomm Technologies, IEEE Senior Member, IEEE-CS Vice President of Standards Activities, IEEE 802 Executive Committee’s Executive Secretary, and IEEE 802.11 First Vice Chair and Treasurer, garnered 2,761 votes.

The six elected members of the Board of Governors for the term beginning 1 January 2019 are:

  • M. Brian Blake, Drexel University (3,580 votes)
  • Kunio Uchiyama, Hitachi, Ltd. (3,356 votes)
  • Erik Jan Marinissen, IMEC (3,070 votes)
  • Fred Douglis, Vencore Labs (2,739 votes)
  • Carlos E. Jimenez-Gomez, international consultant (2,733 votes)
  • Ramalatha Marimuthu, Kumaraguru College of Technology (2,665 votes)

Results for other Board of Governors candidates:

  • Gregory Byrd, North Carolina State University (2,569 votes)
  • Hausi A. Müller, University of Victoria (2,491 votes)
  • Vladimir Getov, University of Westminster (2,334 votes)
  • Fabrizio Lombardi, Northeastern University (2,277 votes)
  • San Murugesan, Western Sydney University (1,913 votes)

The six candidates who received the most votes will assume seats on the board starting in January 2019. The IEEE-CS Board of Governors is in its first year of a transition from 21 to 18 elected members. Starting with this election, and continuing for the next two elections, a total of six rather than seven members will be elected to serve rotating three-year terms.

Candidates on the ballot are selected by the IEEE-CS Nominations Committee or by petition. The Nominations Committee accepts nominations from members until April of the current year and presents their nominations to the Board of Governors for final slate approval.

Results will be published in the December issue of Computer.