Hironori Kasahara Voted 2017 IEEE Computer Society President-Elect

Share this on:

Hironori KasaharaLOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 30 September 2016 – Hironori Kasahara, a Professor of Computer Science at Waseda University in Tokyo, and Director of the Advanced Multicore Research Institute, has been voted IEEE Computer Society 2017 President-Elect.

Kasahara is a former member of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors, has served as chair of the IEEE-CS Multicore STC and CS Japan Chapter, and board member of the IEEE Tokyo Section. Kasahara will serve as the 2018 IEEE CS President for a one-year term beginning 1 January 2018. Kasahara garnered 3,278 votes, compared with 2,804 votes cast for Hausi A. Mϋller, a Professor of Computer Science and Associate Dean of Research, Faculty of Engineering at University of Victoria, Canada, and a member of IEEE-CS Board of Governors.

The President oversees IEEE-CS programs and operations and is a nonvoting member of most IEEE-CS program boards and committees. The 2016 election had a 12.69% turnout, with 6,357 ballots cast. The turnout was higher than the 2015 election with and 12.68% turnout (6,239 ballots cast) and the 2014 election with a 12.66% turnout (6,728 ballots cast).

In balloting for First Vice President, David Lomet, founder of the Database Group at Microsoft Research Redmond, and member of IEEE-CS Board of Governors, was elected with 3,029 votes. Forrest Shull, the assistant director for Empirical Research at Carnegie Mellon University’s Software Engineering Institute (SEI), and member of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors, garnered 2,941 votes.

Gregory T. Byrd, a professor and Associate Head of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC, and secretary of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors, was elected as Second Vice President with 3,421 votes, compared with 2,483 votes cast for Vladimir Getov, a professor of distributed and high-performance computing research group leader and postgraduate program director at the University of Westminster, and member of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors.

The seven elected members of the Board of Governors for the term beginning 1 January 2017 were:

  • Leila De Floriani, University of Genova, Italy (4,644 votes)
  • Jill I. Gostin, Georgia Tech Research Institute (GTRI), (3,538 votes)
  • David S. Ebert, Purdue University (3,076 votes)
  • William Gropp, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (2,953 votes)
  • Avi Mendelson, Technion – Israel Institute of Technology (2,770 votes)
  • Sumi Helal, University of Florida (2,745 votes)
  • Saurabh Bagchi, Purdue University (2,671 votes)

Results for other Board of Governors candidates were:

  • Dimitrios Serpanos, University of Patras, Greece (2,670 votes)
  • Sy-Yen Kuo, National Taiwan University (NTU), (2,338 votes)
  • San Murugesan, Western Sydney University (2,045 votes)
  • Andy Tzir Long Chen, Catronic Enterprise (1,836 votes)
  • Jiangtao (Gene) Wen, Tsinghau University, Beijing, China (1,816 votes)

The seven candidates who received the most votes will assume seats on the board starting in January 2017. The 21 members serve rotating three-year terms in groups of seven.

Candidates on the ballot are selected by the IEEE-CS Nominations Committee or by petition. The Nominations Committee accepts nominations from members until April of the current year and presents their nominations to the Board of Governors for final slate approval.

For additional election information, visit our election results page. Results will also be published in the December issue of Computer.