Awards Committee

The IEEE Computer Society sponsors an Awards Program to recognize both technical achievement and service to the Society.  In the technical area, recognition may be given for pioneering and current contributions to the field of computer science and engineering. Service awards are given to both volunteers and staff for well-defined and highly valued contributions to the Society. In addition, the Society encourages nominations of its members for appropriate IEEE awards.

The Awards Committee selects and recommends recipients for awards administered by the Society, and nominates and recommends candidates for IEEE administered awards.
The Awards Committee is responsible for preserving the integrity of the evaluation and selection process, assuring that the process is both open and rigorous, and that the process contributes to the prestige of the Society and the award recipients.
The Awards Committee chair is appointed by the Society president.  Committee members, including the immediate past chair, chairs of all the awards subcommittees and one to three at-large members, are appointed by the Awards Committee chair with the concurrence of the society President.
Call for Award Nominations - List of featured awards and nomination deadlines. 
Visit the Online Nomination Process - You must create a free IEEE account to start a nomination. 

2018 Awards Committee

Awards Chair:  Paolo Montuschi
Vice Chair: Ming C. Lin
Past Chair: Richard Belgard
Technical Awards
  • B. Ramakrishna Rau Award:  Kemal Ebcioglu
  • Charles Babbage Award:  Viktor Prasanna
  • Computer Entrepreneur:   Stanley Williams
  • Computer Pioneer:  Ming C. Lin
  • Eckert-Mauchly:  Kunle Olukotun, ACM rep.
  • Hans Karlsson:   Francois Coallier
  • Harlan Mills Award: Lionel Briand
  • Harry Goode Memorial:   David A. Padua
  • IEEE CS / SEI Watts S. Humphrey 
    Software Process Achievement:   Julia Mullaney
  • Ken Kennedy Representative:  Stuart Feldman, CS rep.
  • Seymour Cray Computer Engineering:  Marc Snir
  • Sidney Fernbach:  Marc Snir
  • Technical Achievement:   Fabrizio Lombardi
  • W. Wallace McDowell:   Pierangela Samarati
Educational Awards
  • CS&E Undergraduate Teaching:   Ernesto Ocampo Edye
  • Taylor L. Booth:   Mark Weiss
Service Awards
  • Richard E. Merwin:  Susan K. Land
  • Service Awards:  Paolo Montuschi
  • Ronald DeMara
  • Anne Marie Kelly*
  • Millie Lovos*
  • Natalie Enright Jerger
Last update October 2018

Computing Now