Service Awards and Nominations

Highest Honors from the World’s Premier Computing Association

About Service Awards

Dec-awards-nominationsHonoring the achievements of outstanding leaders within computing and technology.

Nominate top colleagues for the Society’s prestigious awards program for international recognition.

Nominators, endorsers, and nominees should comply with IEEE policies and Computer Society policies and procedures on awards, and in particular, those reported in Section 4.4 and in Section 7.8 of the IEEE Policies.

Deadline: 31 December

Read IEEE Policies

Read IEEE Computer Society Award Policies

Certificate of Appreciation

This certificate is awarded for service to any Society activity or program, such as a conference organizing or program committee. Awards can be given to subcommittee members in lieu of a letter of appreciation.

Learn More


Outstanding Contribution Certificate

The Outstanding Contribution Certificate is the third-highest level service certificate. Unlike the Distinguished Service and Meritorious Service Certificates, this certificate is given for a specific achievement of major value and significance to the IEEE Computer Society. The achievement should be a specific, concisely characterized accomplishment, as opposed to a collection of different efforts. Examples are: the successful launching of a major conference series, a specific publication, standards, and model curricula. A group OC award may be given for a major contribution in which a number of volunteers each made significant contributions. Certificates bearing all names would be awarded.

Learn More


Meritorious Service Certificate

The Meritorious Service Certificate is the second-highest level service certificate. A certificate is given for meritorious service to an IEEE Computer Society-sponsored activity. Qualification is enhanced by the level and number of contributions, excellence, dedication, and tenure of service. Examples are: any significant role in one activity such as an editorship, committee, or conference support of unusual and/or continuing nature, and service as a Computer Society officer, committee, or conference general or program chair.

Learn More


Harry Hayman Award for Distinguished Staff Achievement

A plaque and US$5,000 honorarium are presented for long and distinguished service of an exemplary nature in the performance of duties over and above those called for as a regular employee of the Society. This is the highest service award given to an active member of the Computer Society staff.

Learn More


T. Michael Elliott Distinguished Service Certificate

The T. Michael Elliott Distinguished Service Certificate is the highest service certificate for long and distinguished service to the IEEE Computer Society at a level of dedication and achievement rarely demonstrated. Often includes service in several capacities, and positions of significant Society responsibility, with contribution levels justifying multiple Meritorious Service Certificates or higher. Areas of contributions might include initiating a Society program or conference, continuing officership in the Computer Society, or long-term and active service on Society committees.

Learn More


Continuous Service Certificate

This certificate is awarded for ongoing credible service to any Society activity or program. This is intended to recognize and encourage the ongoing involvement of volunteers in Society programs. The initial certificate may be awarded after three years of continuous service. Service may be within a single role over multiple years or reflect changes of roles within the Society. This is comparable to multiple Certificates of Appreciation signed at the presidential level.

Learn More


Inside the Computer Society