Nominate Someone for a Major Award

Don’t let incredible individuals go unrecognized.

General Information

Nominate a mentor, leader, or pioneer of computing for one of the IEEE Computer Society’s prestigious and internationally recognized awards.

Nominators, Endorsers, and Nominees should comply with IEEE policies and Computer Society policies and procedures on awards, and in particular, those reported in Section 4.4 and in Section 7.8 of the IEEE Policies.

Nominations for all awards on this page are due 1 October 2024 except for the Charles Babbage Award which is due on 1 September 2024.

Women of ENIAC Computer Pioneer Award

A bronze medal is presented for significant contributions to concepts and developments in the electronic computer field which have clearly advanced the state of the art in computing. The contributions must have taken place fifteen or more years earlier. Up to two awards, counting co-awardees as a single award, may be presented annually. Learn More Here




Harry H. Goode Memorial Award

A bronze medal and $2,000 are awarded by the Computer Society on the basis of achievements in the information processing field which are considered either a single contribution of theory, design, or technique of outstanding significance, or the accumulation of important contributions on theory or practice over an extended time period, the total of which represent an outstanding contribution. Learn More Here




W. Wallace McDowell Award

A bronze medal and $2,000 honorarium are presented for outstanding recent theoretical, design, educational, practical, or other similar innovative contributions that fall within the scope of Computer Society interest. Learn More Here





Harlan D. Mills Award

Established in Harlan D. Mills’ name to recognize researchers and practitioners who have demonstrated long-standing, sustained, and impactful contributions to software engineering practice and research through the development and application of sound theory. This technical award was first given in 1999. The award consists of a $3,000 honorarium, museum-quality memento, and a possible invited talk during the week of the annual International Conference on Software Engineering (ICSE), co-sponsored by IEEE Computer Society Technical Council on Software Engineering (TCSE). This award is presented at the ACM/IEEE Computer Society International Conference on Software Engineering. Learn More Here




Charles Babbage Award

In recognition of significant contributions in the field of parallel computation. This award covers all aspects of parallel computing including computational aspects, novel applications, parallel algorithms, theory of parallel computation, parallel computing technologies, among others. The award is presented at the IEEE Computer Society International Conference on Parallel and Distributed Processing (IPDPS). Learn More Here




Hans Karlsson Standards Award

Established in 1992 in memory of Hans Karlsson, chairman and father of the IEEE 1301 family of standards. A plaque and $2,000 honorarium is presented in recognition of outstanding skills and dedication to diplomacy, team facilitation and joint achievement, in the development or promotion of standards in the computer industry where individual aspirations, corporate competition, and organizational rivalry could otherwise be counter to the benefit of society. Eligibility is limited to present or past participants in IEEE Computer Society Standards activities. Learn More Here




Richard E. Merwin Award for Distinguished Service

The Computer Society’s highest level volunteer service award. A bronze medal and $5,000 are given for outstanding service to the profession at large, including significant service to the Computer Society or its predecessor organizations. Learn More Here




Taylor L. Booth Education Award

A bronze medal and $5,000 honorarium are awarded for an outstanding record in computer science and engineering education. The individual must meet two or more of the following criteria in the computer science and engineering field: 1. Achieving recognition as a teacher of renown. 2. Writing an influential text. 3. Leading, inspiring or providing significant education content during the creation of a curriculum in the field. 4. Inspiring others to a career in computer science and engineering education. Learn More Here




Mary Kenneth Keller Computer Science & Engineering Undergraduate Teaching Award

Mary Kenneth Keller, B.V.M., was a Roman Catholic religious sister and educator. In 1965, Keller was the first woman to receive a Ph.D. in Computer Science in the United States. She founded and then chaired the Computer Science department of Clarke College for almost 20 years. She played an active role in computer science education when it was still in its formative years in the United States and was an advocate for women in computer science. A certificate and $2,000 honorarium are presented for outstanding contributions to undergraduate education through teaching and service, and for helping to maintain interest in the field. The award was created to emphasize the importance with which the IEEE Computer Society views undergraduate education. Learn More Here




Edward J. McCluskey Technical Achievement Award

A certificate and $2,000 honorarium are presented for outstanding and innovative contributions to the fields of computer and information science and engineering or computer technology, usually within the past ten, and not more than fifteen years. Up to four awards may be presented annually. Learn More Here


Inside the Computer Society