TCCLS Announces Winners of the 2021 PhD Thesis Award

Published 08/02/2022
Share this on:

Winners announced for the TCCLS PhD Thesis AwardThe IEEE Technical Community on Computational Life Sciences (TCCLS) has announced the winning recipients of its TCCLS 2021 PhD Thesis Award, who will receive an honorarium of US$800. This award highlights the contributions to aspects of computational methods and tools with applications in the life sciences, including biology, medicine, healthcare services, and informatics, bioinformatics, artificial intelligence, and system biology. Awardees were evaluated on the degree of innovation in their proposed methodology or technology, the potential for application in real-world situations, and potential effectiveness.


TCCLS 2021 PhD Thesis Winners


Mara Graziani, University of Genève

Headshot of Mara Graziani, 2021 winner of the PhD Thesis AwardInterpretability of Deep Learning for Medical Image Classification: Improved Understandability and Generalization


Vajira Thamabawita, OsloMET

Headshot of Vajira Thamabawita, 2021 winner of the PhD Thesis AwardDeepsynthbody: The Beginning of the End for Data Deficiency in Medicine


Award Selection Committee

  • Ghada Alzamzmi, National Library of Medicine, US (past recipient)
  • Alfredo Benso, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
  • Zacharie Mbaitiga, National Institute of Technology, Okinawa College, Japan
  • Mariacarla Memeo, Fondazione Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia, Italy (past recipient)
  • Beren Semiz, Koc University, Istanbul, Turkey
  • Paolo Soda, Università Campus Bio-Medico di Roma, Italy
  • Agma J. M. Traina, University of Sao Paulo, Brasil