Meet Your 2021 IEEE Computer Society Fellows

Recognized for extraordinary records of professional accomplishments in technology
IEEE Computer Society Team
Published 12/10/2020
Share this on:

2021 IEEE Computer Society Fellows have been announced!


Recently, IEEE CS announced that 68 IEEE and IEEE Computer Society members have been elevated to Fellow Grade for the upcoming year.

Members include 51 from IEEE CS, and 17 from IEEE, all of which are being recognized for unusual achievements in technology.

The IEEE Grade of Fellow is conferred upon a person with an extraordinary record of accomplishments in any IEEE field of interest. The 68 honored Fellows of 2021 have been selected out of 419k IEEE members, and now hold the same distinction as recipients such as compiler pioneer Frances Allen, MIT professor Arvind, and C++ developer Bjarne Stroustrup.

Each year, just dozens of outstanding IEEE Computer Society members receive the distinction of becoming an IEEE Fellow.


IEEE CS members and associates honored for Fellow status in 2021 include:


Tarek Abdelzaher – for contributions to cyber-physical systems and real-time computing

Rajeev Balasubramonian – for contributions to in-memory computation and memory interface design

David Basin – for contributions to formal methods for information security

Wim Bogaerts – for contributions to design methodologies for silicon photonics components and circuits

Achintya Bhowmik – for leadership in perceptual augmentation devices

Kirk Cameron – for contributions to measurement and management of energy in high-performance-computing systems

Calin Cascaval – for contributions to programming models for parallel machines and heterogeneous mobile devices

Bruce Croft – for contributions to information retrieval

Bronis De Supinski – for leadership in the design and use of large-scale computing systems

Sebastian Elbaum – for contributions of testing techniques for evolving systems

Natalie Enright Jerger – for contributions to networks-on-chip for many-core architectures

Michael Ernst – for contributions to software analysis, testing, and verification

Evgeniy Gabrilovich – for contributions to web information retrieval technology

James Gee – for contributions to medical image processing and analysis

Yolanda Gil – for contributions to geoscience and scientific discovery with intelligent workflow systems

Matthias Grossglauser – for contributions to the modeling and analysis of network traffic and data

Wolfgang Heidrich – for contributions to high dynamic range display and computational cameras

Stephen Hodges – for leadership in pervasive computing systems

Ayanna Howard – for contributions to human-robot interaction systems

Bruce Jacob – for contributions to computer memory design and analysis

Daniel Jimenez – for contributions to neural branch prediction in microprocessor research and design

Stefanos Kaxiras – for contributions to high-performance and power-efficient memory hierarchies

Kimberly Keeton – for contributions to storage and memory systems

Craig Knoblock – for contributions to semantic data integration techniques

Svetlana Lazebnik – for contributions to computer vision

Huadong Ma – for contributions to multimedia sensor networks

Kyoung Mu Lee – for contributions to image restoration and visual tracking

Wenke Lee – for contributions to machine-learning-based approaches to intrusion and botnet detection

Wonjun Lee – for contributions to multiple access and resource allocation in wireless networks

Houqiang Li – for contributions to video coding and multimedia content analysis

Ninghui Li – for contributions to data privacy and security

Xiaofeng Liao – for contributions to neurodynamic systems and chaotic cryptography

Shixia Liu – for contributions to visual text analysis and visual model analysis

Le Lu – for contributions to machine learning for cancer detection and diagnosis

Jose Martinez – for contributions to adaptable multiprocessor computer architectures

Sharad Mehrotra – for contributions to the fields of data management and multimedia information retrieval

Prabhat Mishra – for contributions to system-on-chip validation and design automation of embedded systems

Jose Moreira – for advances in high performance computing systems software and processor design

Katherine Morse – for contributions to standardization of simulation technologies

Andreas Moshovos – for contributions to out-of-order processor microarchitecture and multiprocessor memory systems

Alessandro Orso – for contributions to software testing and debugging

John Owens – for contributions to heterogeneous parallel computing

Ai-chun Pang – for contributions to resource management and service provisioning for mobile edge networks

Pietro Perona – for contributions to visual recognition algorithms and datasets

Louiqa Raschid – for contributions to data management, information integration and data mining

Martin Reddy – for contributions to conversational artificial intelligence

Grigore Rosu – for contributions to runtime verification and programming language semantics

Dieter Schmalstieg – for contributions to augmented reality

Julia Schnabel – for contributions to medical image computing

Eve Schooler – for contributions to multimedia protocols and internet standards

Alla Sheffer – for contributions to mesh parameterization and hexahedral meshing

Richa Singh – for contributions to robust and secure biometrics

Willy Susilo – for contributions to cloud computing security

Jie Tang – for contributions to knowledge discovery from data and social network mining

My Thai – for contributions to modeling, design, and optimization of networked systems

Vincent Tseng – for contributions to utility pattern mining and biomedical applications

Filip De Turck – for contributions to network resource management and adaptive service delivery

Jaideep Vaidya – for contributions to privacy protection in data analytics and access control management

Wil Van Der Aalst – for contributions to process mining and workflow processes

Ganesh Venayagamoorthy – for contributions to the application of artificial intelligence to power systems

Lizhe Wang– for contributions to high performance computing in processing, analysis and applications of remote sensing imagery

Xiaorui Wang – for contributions to power management of data center servers and embedded systems

Yingxu Wang – for contributions to real-time autonomous systems

Jingyi Yu – for contributions to theoretical analysis, algorithms and systems for computational photography and computer vision

Junsong Yuan – for contributions to human behavior understanding and video analytics

Lintao Zhang – for contributions to computer-aided verification with efficient Boolean satisfiability solvers

Yu Zheng – for contributions to spatio-temporal data mining and urban computing

Thomas Zimmermann – for contributions to data science in software engineering, research and practice


Meet past Fellow Classes, explore the nomination process, and participate in the Call for 2022 IEEE Fellow Nominations today!

Computer Society Members Save on Conferences & Events

  • Engage with the brightest minds.
  • Share best practices and innovative solutions.
  • Choose from 180+ technical conferences worldwide.