2021 Election Results Are In – IEEE Computer Society President Announced

IEEE Computer Society Team
Published 09/29/2021
Share this on:

2021 Election ResultsResults from the 2021 Election are in. The IEEE Computer Society announces Nita Patel, P.E., has been voted the 2022 President-Elect and 2023 President of the Computer Society.

Patel garnered 3,277 votes, compared with 1,791 votes cast for Dimitrios Serpanos, who is a professor at the University of Patras and the president of the Computer Technology Institute, Greece. The 2021 election had a 14.01% turnout with 5,238 ballots cast. The turnout percentage was lower than the 2020 election, which had a 16.36% turnout (6,620 ballots cast), and the 2019 election, which had a 15.10% turnout (5,949 ballots cast).


Getting to know our President-Elect

Nita Patel is a Senior Director, Engineering Lead Design Center-Farmington at Otis; IEEE Foundation Director; and mentor for several IEEE Women in Engineering summits. Additionally, Nita is an active member in several IEEE Computer Society committees, IEEE Industry Engagement Committee, several IEEE Women in Engineering committees, and the IEEE New Hampshire executive committee.


Additional Election Results

2022 First Vice-President

Riccardo Mariani has been re-elected as the 2022 first vice-president with 2,866 votes. Coming in second was David Lomet, founder and retired manager of Microsoft’s Database Research Group garnered 2,150 votes.

Mariani is Vice President of Industry Safety at NVIDIA and IEEE CS 2021 first vice president chairing the IEEE CS Standards Activities Board.


2022 Second Vice-President

David S. Ebert was elected second vice-president with 2,919 votes. Ramalatha Marimuthu followed behind with 2,098 votes.

Ebert is Associate Vice President for Research and Partnerships, Gallogly Chair Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, and director of the Data Institute for Societal Challenges at the University of Oklahoma.


Board of Governors

The six elected members of the Board of Governors for the term beginning 1 January 2022 are:

  • Saurabh Bagchi, Purdue University (1,970 votes)
  • Charles (Chuck) Hansen, University of Utah (2,540 votes)
  • Carlos Jimenez-Gomez, international consultant (1,993 votes)
  • Daniel S. Katz, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (2,374 votes)
  • Shixia Liu, Tsinghua University (2,122 votes)
  • Cyril Onwubiko, Pearson Plc (1,981 votes)


About the Election Process

Candidates on the ballot are selected by the IEEE CS Nominations Committee or by petition. The Nominations Committee accepts nominations from members until March of the current year and presents its nominations to the Board of Governors for final slate approval.

Results of the 2021 IEEE CS election will be published in the December issue of Computer.