William Camp

Award Recipient
Share this on:

William (Bill) Camp was a National Merit Scholar at Manhattan College in EE/NE and received his PhD at Cornell for work in theoretical and computational physics. Camp spent most of his career at NNSA’s Sandia Labs, at Cray Research and at Intel. At Sandia, Camp founded DOE’s Massively Parallel Computing Research Lab (MPCRL). In its first 5 years the MPCRL won the inaugural Gordon Bell Prize, several other international awards, and 8 R&D100 Awards — all for pioneering highly scalable applications, algorithms, and methods as well as for developing scalable systems software and hardware. The MPCRL received over 30 patents for MPP technologies. While on leave at Cray, Camp led scalable applications development for the T3D and T3E computer systems and served on the T3E core design team. Camp returned to Sandia to direct NNSA’s newly formed Accelerated Strategic computing Initiative (ASCI) and to direct Sandia’s Computing Information, and Math R&D, as well as contributing to MPP design and development. His team stood up a series of first-ever computing capabilities: First 1000+ PE MPP, first MPP to lead Top 500 list (Paragon), first tera-scale computer (ASCI RED), and first tera-scale cluster-based supercomputing environment (CPlant). In 2000, Camp and his colleague, Jim Tomkins developed and patented the Red Storm architecture; and Camp led a partnership with Cray to build it. ASCI Red Storm became the Cray XT3 and the follow-on XT-series, which are arguably the most successful supercomputers to date. In 2006, Camp joined Intel as Chief Supercomputing Architect and directed Intel’s Exascale R&D efforts. His team’s work led to detailed architectures and conceptual designs for Exascale. Camp also led Intel’s efforts to create joint Exascale labs with leading European computing centers. Camp received two Intel individual achievement awards recognizing those accomplishments. Camp currently consults on computing technologies for post-exascale computing.


2016 Seymour Cray Award
“For visionary leadership of the Red Storm project, and for decades of leadership of the HPC community.”
Learn more about the Seymour Cray Award