Prithviraj Banerjee

Award Recipient
Share this on:

Prithviraj Banerjee received his B.Tech. degree in Electronics and Electrical Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, India, in August 1981, and the M.S. and Ph.D degrees in Electrical Engineering from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in December 1982 and December 1984 respectively.

Dr. Banerjee is currently the Walter P. Murphy Professor and Chair of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, and Director of the Center for Parallel and Distributed Computing. At Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois. Prior to that he was the Director of the Computational Science and Engineering program, and Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and the Coordinated Science Laboratory at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Dr. Banerjee’s research interests are in Parallel Algorithms for VLSI Design Automation, Distributed Memory Parallel Compilers, and Compilers for Adaptive Computing, and is the author of over 300 papers in these areas. He leads the PARADIGM compiler project for compiling programs for distributed memory multicomputers, the ProperCAD project for portable parallel VLSI CAD applications, the MATCH project on a MATLAB compilation environment for adaptive computing, and the PACT project on power aware compilation and architectural techniques. He is also the author of a book entitled “Parallel Algorithms for VLSI CAD” published by Prentice Hall, Inc., 1994. He has supervised 27 Ph.D. and 30 M.S. student theses so far.

Dr. Banerjee has received numerous awards and honors during his career. He became a Fellow of the ACM in 2000. He was the recipient of the 1996 Frederick Emmons Terman Award of ASEE’s Electrical Engineering Division sponsored by Hewlett-Packard.  He was elected to the Fellow grade of IEEE in 1995. He received the University Scholar award from the University of Illinois for in 1993, the Senior Xerox Research Award in 1992, the IEEE Senior Membership in 1990, the National Science Foundation’s Presidential Young Investigators’ Award in 1987, the IBM Young Faculty Development Award in 1986, and the President of India Gold Medal from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, in 1981.

Dr. Banerjee has served as the Program Chair of the High-Performance Computing Conference in 1999, and Program Chair of the Intl. Conf. on Parallel Processing for 1995. He has served as General Chair of the International Conference on Parallel and Distributed Computing Systems in 1997, and the International Workshop on Hardware Fault Tolerance in Multiprocessors, 1989. He has served on the Program and Organizing Committees of the 1988, 1989, 1993, and 1996 Fault Tolerant Computing Symposia, the 1992, 1994, 1995, 1996, and 1997 International Parallel Processing Symposium, the 1991, 1992, 1994 and 1998 International Symposia on Computer Architecture, the 1998 International Conference on Architectural Support of Programming Languages and Operating Systems, the 1990, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, and 1998 International Symposium on VLSI Design, the 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, and 2000 International Conference on Parallel Processing, and the 1995, 1996 and 1997 International Conference on High-Performance Computing. He is an Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Parallel and Distributed Systems and IEEE Transactions on Computers. In the past he has served as Associate Editor of the Journal of Parallel and Distributed Computing, IEEE Transactions on VLSI Systems, and Journal of Circuits, Systems and Computers. He has been a consultant to many companies and was on the Technical Advisory Board of Ambit Design Systems.


2000 Taylor L. Booth Education Award
“For outstanding contributions in advancing computer science and engineering education through research, teaching, writing a graduate level textbook, and developing a new computational science and engineering graduate program.”
Learn more about the Taylor L. Booth Education Award