Harvey G. Cragon

Award Recipient
Share this on:

Harvey G. Cragon has designed and constructed the first integrated-circuit computer and the first TTL computer. He worked on the design of the TI advanced scientific computer and served as principal architect of the TMS 320 signal  processing microcomputer. Cragon is a member of the IEEE Computer Society, the ACM, the IEEE, the National Academy of Engineering, and the Charles Babbage Institute.

In 1984 he received the IEEE Emanuel R. Piore Award. Cragon received the award, which carries a stipend of  $1000, at the 1986 Computer Architecture Symposium held June 3–5 in Tokyo, Japan.

Cragon was cited for major contributions to this field, especially for work performed during 25 years of service at Texas Instruments, Inc.


1986 Eckert-Mauchly Award
“For major contributions to computer architecture and for pioneering the application of integrated circuits for computer purposes and for serving as architect of the Texas Instruments scientific computer and for playing a leading role in many other computing developments in that company.”
Learn more about the Eckert-Mauchly Award