Eva Tardos

Award Recipient
Share this on:

Eva Tardos is a Jacob Gould Schurman Professor of Computer Science at Cornell University, is currently Senior Associate Dean of Computing and Information Science, and was Computer Science department chair 2006-2010. She received her BA and PhD from Eotvos University in Budapest.  After a series of postdocs, she joined the faculty at Cornell in 1989. Her research interest is algorithms, networks, and the interface of economics and computer science, focusing on the theory of designing systems and algorithms for users with diverse economic interests.

Tardos has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering, National Academy of Sciences, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, she is a fellow of multiple societies (ACM, AMS, SIAM, INFORMS), and is the recipient of some fellowships and awards including the Packard Fellowship, the Fulkerson Prize in 1988 (of American Mathematics and the Mathematical Programming Societies) for the paper  “A strongly polynomial minimum cost circulation algorithm”, and the Goedel Prize in 2012 (of  the Association for Computing Machinery Special Interest Group on Algorithms and Computation Theory, and the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science) for the paper “How Bad is Selfish Routing?” She was editor in chief of SIAM Journal of Computing 2003-09, is editor of several other journals, including the Journal of the ACM and Combinatorica, served as problem committee member for many conferences, was program committee chair for the ACM-SIAM Symposium on Discrete Algorithms (SODA96), IEEE Annual Symposium on Foundations of Computer Science (FOCS’05), and the upcoming ACM Conference on Electronic Commerce (EC’13).

Tardos’s research interest is algorithms and algorithmic game theory, the subarea of theoretical computer science theory of designing systems and algorithms for selfish users. Her research focuses on algorithms and games on networks.  She is most known for her work on network-flow algorithms, approximation algorithms, and quantifying the efficiency of selfish routing.


2013 Technical Achievement Award
“For contributions to algorithmic game theory, particularly her seminal work on selfish routing.”
Learn more about the Technical Achievement Award