Dejan S. Milojicic

Award Recipient
Share this on:

Dejan S. Milojicic is a distinguished technologist and director at Hewlett Packard Labs, Palo Alto, CA [1998-present]. Previously, he worked in the OSF Research Institute, Cambridge, MA [1994-1998] and Institute “Mihajlo Pupin”, Belgrade, Serbia [1983-1991]. His areas of expertise include system software and distributed systems. He received his PhD from the University of Kaiserslautern, Germany (1993); and his MSc/BSc are from Belgrade University, Serbia (1983/86). Dejan was a managing director of the Open Cirrus Cloud Computing testbed (2007-2011). He has over 200 papers, 2 books and 61 allowed/granted patents. Dejan is an IEEE Fellow (2010), ACM Distinguished Engineer (2008), and HKN and USENIX member. Dejan was on 8 PhD thesis committees and he taught a Cloud Management course in San Jose State University. Dejan mentored over 50 interns and he collaborated with a number of universities, such as UIUC, GaTech, Purdue, Cambridge, ETH, USP, UFCG, PUC.

Dejan was president of the IEEE Computer Society (2014) and he was an IEEE Presidential Candidate (2019). He is chair of the SCV Corporate Liaison Program (2020-2021), initiating “Industry Spotlight” podcasts. Dejan served on the IEEE Board (Division Director VIII, 2017-2018, elect 2016), IEEE Audit Committee (2017-2019), IEEE New Initiatives Committee (2017-2018), Fellows Committee (2016), Awards Board (2018), and the Industry Engagement Committee (IEC) (2018-2022). Dejan was Chair of the IEEE Audit Committee (2018) and Industry Engagement ad hoc Committee (2015-2017), crafting a portfolio of products and services, resulting in the creation of IEEE IEC committee. Dejan was editor-in-chief of IEEE Computing Now 2008-2012 and Distributed Systems Online 2008-2009 and he has served on multiple editorial boards (Internet Computing, Concurrency, Distributed Systems Online, Transactions on Cloud Computing). Dejan started two IEEE conferences (Agent Systems and Applications; Infrastructure). Dejan was conference general chair (COMPSAC, ICAC, Infrastructure), program chair (Middleware, IC2E, Congress on Services) and he has served on many program committees.

2021 Richard E. Merwin Award for Distinguished Service


2021 Richard E. Merwin Award for Distinguished Service
“For distinguished service to the IEEE Computer Society, with impactful, innovative,
and long-lasting contributions to the profession.”
Learn more about the Richard E. Merwin Award

Recent Volunteer Positions

2017-2018 IEEE Division VIII Director (2018 ExCom)
2016-2018 Board of Governors
2014 IEEE Computer Society President
Learn more about volunteering