Cheryl Jones

Award Recipient
Share this on:

Cheryl Jones is a senior systems engineer at the US Army Futures Command at Picatinny Arsenal, NJ, where she works in the areas of Performance and Decision Analysis. Ms. Jones has worked in international standards in systems and software engineering for more than 25 years. In IEEE, she has been a reviewer, project editor, project chair and coordinator, and working group chair. Ms. Jones is the DoD representative to the US Technical Advisory Group to International Standards Organization SC7, System and Software Engineering. She has served in many leadership roles including convenor of SWG5, Architecture Management; co-chair of the Lifecyle Harmonization Advisory Group, co-editor of ISO/IEC/IEEE 15939, Measurement Process; and co-editor of ISO/IEC/IEEE 15288, Systems Life Cycle Processes, ISO/IEC/IEEE 12207: Software Life Cycle Processes, ISO/IEC/IEEE 29148, Requirements Engineering, and ISO/IEC/IEEE 16085, Risk Management. For many of these projects, Ms. Jones also served as the IEEE lead.

Ms. Jones is the technical lead and project manager of Practical Software and Systems Measurement and a primary author of Practical Software Measurement: Objective Information for Decision Makers. Recent focus areas of this project include a measurement guide for Continuous Iterative Development (agile) and Digital Engineering. These measurement guides provide definitions and guidance on common information needs and measures.

Ms. Jones is also the technical lead for the Army Software Sustainment Cost Estimation initiative. The objective of this project is to provide the Department of the Army with the ability to accurately estimate, budget, allocate, and justify the software maintenance resources required to meet evolving mission and service affordability requirements across the system life-cycle. As part of this work, data was collected from 377 Army software sustainment programs. The data was used to develop Cost Estimating Relationships and benchmarks that are used to develop independent government cost estimates.


2023 Hans Karlsson Standards Award
“For key standards development in measurement and systems engineering, broad outreach, and diplomatic leadership.”
Learn more about the Hans Karlsson Standards Award