Charbel Farhat

Award Recipient
Share this on:

Charbel Farhat is the Vivian Church Hoff Professor of Aircraft Structures and the Chairman of the Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics at Stanford University. He is also Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Professor in the Institute for Computational and Mathematical Engineering, and Director of the Army High Performance Computing Research Center also at Stanford University. He currently serves on the U.S. Bureau of Industry and Security’s Emerging Technology and Research Advisory Committee (ETRAC) at the U.S. Department of Commerce and on the technical assessment boards of several national research councils and foundations.

Professor Farhat has been designated by the Institute for Science Information (ISI) as one of the most highly cited researchers in engineering (see He is also the recipient of several prestigious awards including the United States Association of Computational Mechanics John von Neumann Medal, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Computer Society Gordon Bell Award (2002), the International Association of Computational Mechanics (IACM) Computational Mechanics Award (2002), a Department of Defense Modeling and Simulation Award (2001), the USACM Medal of Computational and Applied Sciences (2001), the IACM Award in Computational Mechanics for Young Investigators (1998), the USACM R. H. Gallagher Special Achievement Award for Young Investigators (1997), the IEEE Computer Society Sidney Fernbach Award (1997), the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Aerospace Structures and Materials Best Paper Award (1994), and the United States Presidential Young Investigator Award (1989). He has over 22 years of research experience in structural mechanics, structural dynamics, fluid/structure interaction, CFD on moving grids, computational acoustics, numerical analysis, and parallel processing.

Professor Farhat is Editor of the International Journal for Numerical Methods in Engineering. He also serves on the editorial boards of eleven other international scientific journals. He is a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (2003), Fellow of the International Association of Computational Mechanics (2002), Fellow of the World Innovation Foundation (2001), Fellow of the United States Association of Computational Mechanics (2001), and Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (1999).


1997 Sidney Fernbach Award
“For outstanding contributions to the development of parallel numerical algorithms and parallel software packages that have helped the mechanical engineering world to embrace parallel processing technology.”
Learn more about Sidney Fernbach Award