Bhavani Thuraisingham

Award Recipient
Share this on:

Dr. Bhavani Thuraisingham is the Founders Chair Professor of Computer Science, the Founding Executive Director of the Cyber Security Research and Education Institute (2004-2021), and the Co-Director of the Women in Cyber Security and Women in Data Science Centers at the University of Texas at Dallas. She is also a visiting senior research fellow at Kings College, the University of London since 2015 and was a Cyber Security Policy Fellow at New America Foundation 2017-8. Dr. Thuraisingham is an elected Fellow of several prestigious organizations including the IEEE, the ACM, the AAAS, the NAI (National Academy of Inventors) and the BCS (British Computer Society).

Her research, education, and outreach efforts have been on integrating cyber security and data science/machine learning for the past 37+ years including at Honeywell Inc., The MITRE Corporation, the National Science Foundation, and Academia. Her recent focus has been on developing scalable trustworthy machine learning-based solutions for tackling the cyber security challenges as well as on aspects of cyber security policy, risk, and governance. She has delivered over 200 keynote/featured addresses, over 100 panel presentations including at Fortune Media, Dell Technologies World, and Lloyds of London Insurance, written 16 books, published over 130 journal articles and over 300 conference papers, and has 7 US patents. She has also written opinion columns on security for venues such as the New York Times,, Inc. Magazine, the Legal 500 and the Connected World.
Over her 42 year career, Dr. Thuraisingham has educated a global community including students in the US academia, members of several US federal agencies and industry contractors, students in developing countries such as those at the University of Dschang in Cameroon, Africa, the general public in DFW via the public libraries, and high school students. She also participates in panels for Professors Without Borders. She is a strong proponent of diversity, equity and inclusion and out of the 22 PhD students she has graduated at the university, 11 are women and others include members from the African American, Hispanic American and the LGBTQ+ communities.

In addition to the prestigious IEEE CS 2023 Taylor L. Booth Education Award, Dr. Thuraisingham has also received multiple research and leadership awards including the IEEE CS 1997 (Edward J. McCluskey) Technical Achievement Award, the ACM SIGSAC 2010 Outstanding Contributions Award, 2013 IBM Faculty Award, the ACM SACMAT 2018 and 2019 Test of Time Awards for papers published in 2008 and 2009, and the Dallas Business Journal 2017 Women in Technology Award. She received her PhD in Computability Theory from the University of Wales, UK and higher doctorate (D.Eng) from the University of Bristol, England for her published work in Secure Data Management. She also has a certificate in Public Policy Analysis from the London School of Economics.

Read more about Dr. Thuraisingham


2023 Taylor L. Booth Education Award
“For Outstanding Leadership in Cyber Security Education and Data Science Education as well as Mentorship of Members of Systemically Marginalized Groups.”
Learn more about the Taylor L. Booth Education Award


1997 Technical Achievement Award
“For contributions to secure distributed database systems.”
Learn more about the Technical Achievement Award