Barry W. Johnson

1997 IEEE Computer Society President
Share this on:

Barry W. Johnson is currently Senior Associate Dean and Associate Dean for Research in the School of Engineering and Applied Science at the University of Virginia. In addition, he is the L. A. Lacy Distinguished Professor of Engineering. He is founder and director of the University of Virginia Center for Safety-Critical Systems. In 1998, he was a founder of Privaris, Inc., a biometric security company. While on leave from the University of Virginia from 2002 to 2006 he served as Chairman, President, and CEO of Privaris. He continues to serve as Chairman and CTO. Prior to joining the University of Virginia, he was with Harris Corporation in Melbourne, Florida where he designed and analyzed fault-tolerant computer systems for aerospace applications.

His research and teaching interests include biometrics, embedded system security, fault-tolerant computing, safety-critical systems, system testing, and system modeling and analysis. He is the author of two textbooks including The Design and Analysis of Fault-Tolerant Digital Systems, published by Addison-Wesley Publishing Company, and The Co-Design of Embedded Systems: A Unified Hardware/Software Representation, published by Kluwer Academic Publishers. He is also the author of eight book chapters and more than 150 journal and conference articles. He is an inventor on six issued United States patents and 30 applications currently pending in the United States, Canada, Japan, and the European Union.

Dr. Johnson has been very active in the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineering (IEEE) as a member of the IEEE Board of Directors (1999–2000), the IEEE Executive Committee (2000), the IEEE Computer Society Executive Committee (1988–2000), and the IEEE Computer Society Board of Governors (1988–2000). He has also served within the IEEE Computer Society as President (1997), Vice President for Publications (1993–1994), Vice President for Conferences and Tutorials (1992), Vice President for Press Activities (1991), Vice President for Membership Activities (1989–1990), and Treasurer (1988, 1995). He also served as Treasurer of the IEEE Technical Activities Board (1990). Finally, he served as Chair of the Computer Society’s IEEE Fellow Evaluation Committee in 2001. He has also served on the IEEE Fellows Committee from 2000–2002 and 2008–2009 and as Vice Chair for 2008 and 2009.

Dr. Johnson received the B.S., M.E., and Ph.D degrees in electrical engineering from the University of Virginia, Charlottesville, Virginia, in 1979, 1980, and 1983, respectively. He is a Fellow of the IEEE for his contributions to fault-tolerant computing. He is also a member of the IEEE Computer Society, Tau Beta Pi, and Eta Kappa Nu. His major awards include the 1992 C. Holmes MacDonald Outstanding Young Electrical Engineering Professor Award from Eta Kappa Nu, the 1991 Frederick Emmons Terman Award from the American Society for Engineering Education, a 1992 Alan Berman Research Publications Award from the Department of the Navy, a 1990 Outstanding Faculty Award from the State Council of Higher Education in Virginia, election to the Raven Society in 2007, and a 1997 David A. Harrison Outstanding Faculty Award from the University of Virginia.

Recent Volunteer Positions

1997 IEEE Computer Society President
Learn more about volunteering