Andre DeHon

Award Recipient
Share this on:

Andre DeHon received S.B., S.M., and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1990, 1993, and 1996 respectively. From 1996 to 1999, Andre co-ran the BRASS group in the Computer Science Department at the University of California at Berkeley. From 1999 to 2006, he was an Assistant Professor of Computer Science at the California Institute of Technology.

In 2006 he joined the Electrical and Systems Engineering Department at the University of Pennsylvania, where he is now a Full Professor. He is broadly interested in how we physically implement computations from substrates, including VLSI and molecular electronics, up through architecture, CAD, and programming models. He places special emphasis on spatial programmable architectures (e.g. FPGAs) and interconnect design and optimization.

Andre is a Fellow of the ACM (Class of 2018) and a Senior member of the IEEE. He was recognized as one of Technology Review’s 100 young innovators in 2003. He has 9 papers in the TC-FPGA Hall of Fame for FPGAs and Reconfigurable Computing and 2 best papers from ICFPT. He serves as an Associate Editor for ACM TRETS and has served as program chair for the ACM FPGA conference and the IEEE FCCM conference. He serves as the Chair of the ACM/SIGDA Technical Committee on FPGAs and Reconfigurable Computing.

At the University of Pennsylvania, Andre oversaw the reformulation of the Computer Engineering undergraduate program from 2006 and has served as chair of the program since then. Since 2012, he has served as undergraduate chair for Electrical and Systems Engineering, which includes programs in Electrical Engineering and System Science and Engineering, as well as, Computer Engineering, including leading major revamps in all programs.



2020 Mary Kenneth Keller Computer Science and Engineering Undergraduate Teaching Award
“For outstanding educational leadership in the creation and growth of a modern computer engineering program at the University of Pennsylvania.”
Learn more about the Mary Kenneth Keller Computer Science and Engineering Undergraduate Teaching Award