Exec Committee Members

Share this on:

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 29 January 2014 – The IEEE Computer Society Board of Governors has approved the Executive Committee members who will serve under 2014 President Dejan Milojicic, who begins his term this month.

They include:

  • First Vice President, Member and Geographic Activities, Elizabeth L. Burd, professor and Pro-Vice Chancellor at the University of Newcastle, Australia;
  • Second Vice President, Standards Activities, James W. Moore, a 40-year veteran of software engineering at IBM and MITRE;
  • Vice President, Publications, Jean-Luc Gaudiot, University of California Irvine professor of electrical engineering and computer science;
  • Vice President, Professional Activities, Don Shafer, Athens Group co-founder and CTO;
  • Vice President, Technical & Conference Activities, Cecilia Metra, a professor of electronics at University of Bologna;
  • Vice President, Educational Activities, Phillip A. Laplante, a professor of software engineering at Pennsylvania State University and a professional engineer;
  • Treasurer Charlene “Chuck” Walrad, managing director of Davenport Consulting Inc.; and
  • Secretary David S. Ebert, Purdue Silicon Valley Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

The Executive Committee will also comprise President-elect Thomas M. Conte, a joint professor of computer science, and electrical and computer engineering at Georgia Institute of Technology; and Past-President David Alan Grier, an associate professor of science and technology policy at George Washington University.

Roger U. Fujii, president of Fujii Systems, will serve as 2014 IEEE Division VIII Director; Susan K. (Kathy) Land, technical lead for the Missile Defense Agency, as 2014 IEEE Division V Director; and John W. Walz, former IEEE Computer Society President, as 2014 IEEE Division VIII Director-Elect.

In addition, the following appointments were made:

  • Robert Dupuis, a professor at the University of Quebec, will continue as ombudsman;
  • Nita Patel, a systems and software engineering manager at L-3 Warrior Systems,  2014 BoG member of the Nominations Committee;
  • Pierre Bourque, a professor at L’École de technologie supérieure of the Université du Québec; Atsuhiro Goto, professor of the Graduate School of Information Security at the Institute of Information Security; and Gargi Keeni, a former vice president at Tata Consultancy Services; 2014 Audit Committee;
  • Consultant Rich Belgard , Awards Committee Chair;
  • Georgia Tech Research Institute Senior Research Scientist Jill Gostin, Elections Chair;
  • University of Minnesota CBI Associate Director, Jeffrey Yost, History Committee Chair;
  • University of Sydney Chair Professor Albert Zomaya, Fellows Evaluation Committee Chair;
  • Retired CSC Fellow Paul R. Croll, Emerging Products & Services Committee Chair; and
  • Gaudiot, IEEE Computer Society representative to the IEEE Publications Services and Products Board.