New 2013 Richard E. Merwin Scholarship Winners Announced

Share this on:

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 13 February 2013 – Thirteen IEEE Computer Society student members from around the world have been awarded Richard E. Merwin Scholarships, which recognize and reward active student volunteer leaders who show promise in their academic and professional efforts.

Merwin Awards are now being award twice per year. The next application deadline is 30 April. The scholarship is open to graduate students and undergraduate students in their final two years, who are IEEE Computer Society student members and are enrolled in a program in electrical or computer engineering, computer science, information technology, or a well-defined computer field.

The latest Merwin winners represent 13 different universities in Australia, China, Colombia, Croatia, India, United Arab Emirates, and the United States. They are:

  • Pavin Prasad Abraham, Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Technology, India
  • Deepak Garg, The University of Western Australia
  • Gunturu Mahati, Birla Institute of Technology & Science, Dubai UAE
  • William Rawlins Martin, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, USA
  • Ananthatejas Raghava, National Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal (NITK), India
  • Rahul Raveendranath, College of Engineering, Trivandrum, India
  • Goce Ristanoski, The University of Melbourne, Australia
  • Damir Senic, University of Split, Croatia
  • Madhuri Shanbhogue, National Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal (NITK), India
  • Karthik Siddavaram, Vignana Bharathi Institute of Technology, India
  • Yao Xiu Hu, Sun Yat-Sen University, China
  • Fabian Camilo Pena Lozano, Universidad Distrital Francisco Jose de Caldas, Bogota, Colombia
  • Carlos Andres Lozano, Universidad de Los Andes, Bogota, Colombia

This scholarship was created in honor of the late Richard E. Merwin, past president of IEEE Computer Society, to recognize and reward student leadership. The selected winners of this award will have the opportunity to serve as IEEE Computer Society Student Ambassadors for their IEEE region.