Roger Fujii Voted 2015 IEEE Computer Society President-Elect

Share this on:

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 8 October 2014 – IEEE Division VIII Director Roger Fujii, President of Fujii Systems and formerly Vice President of Northrop Grumman’s Network Communications Division, has been voted IEEE Computer Society 2015 President-Elect.

Fujii, who will serve as 2016 President, garnered 3,367 votes, compared with 2,962 cast for Hironori Kasahara, a professor of computer engineering at Waseda University in Tokyo and member of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors. The president oversees IEEE-CS programs and operations and is a nonvoting member of most IEEE-CS program boards and committees. Of the 6,728 ballots cast with a 12.66 percent turnout, 6,604 were submitted online and 125 by mail.

In balloting for First Vice President, Elizabeth (Liz) Burd, Pro-Vice Chancellor for Learning and Teaching at Australia’s University of Newcastle and IEEE-CS First Vice President of Member and Geographic Activities (MGA), garnered 4,138 votes, compared with 2,206 cast for Charlene (Chuck) Walrad, founder of Davenport Consulting, IEEE Computer Society Treasurer, and Vice President for Standards Activities.

IEEE-CS Secretary David S. Ebert, a Purdue University professor of electrical and computer engineering, was elected Second Vice President, with 3,935 votes, compared with 2,401 cast for Satish Babu, MGA Vice Chair of Awards and Recognition and Director of the International Centre for Free and Open Source Software.

The seven highest vote-getters for the 2015-2017 terms on the Board of Governors were:

  • Alfredo Benso, a computer engineering professor at the Politecnico di Torino in Italy (3,305 votes);
  • Gregory T. Byrd, a professor at North Carolina State University Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (3,334 votes)
  • Ming C. Lin, the John R. & Louise S. Parker Distinguished Professor of Computer Science at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (3,418 votes)
  • Fabrizio Lombardi, ITC Endowed Chair in the Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering at Northeastern University (2,985 votes)
  • David Lomet, a principal researcher managing the Microsoft Research Database Group at Microsoft Research (3,476 votes)
  • Hausi A. Müller, Founder of the Bachelor of Software Engineering degree program at University of Victoria, Canada (2,925 votes)
  • Forrest Shull, assistant director for Empirical Research at Carnegie Mellon University’s Software Engineering Institute (SEI) (3,061 votes)

Results for other Board of Governors candidates were:

  • Vladimir Getov, a professor of distributed and high-performance computing at the University of Westminster, London (2,627 votes)
  • Francisco R. Martinez, founder and CEO of Sistemas Azteca S.A. (2,672 votes)
  • Arnold Pears, leader of the UpCERG research group in Computing and Engineering Education at Uppsala University, Sweden (2,557 votes)
  • Jie Wu, Chair and Laura H. Carnell Professor in the Department of Computer and Information Sciences at Temple University, (2,385 votes) and
  • Albert Y. Zomaya, the Chair Professor of High Performance Computing & Networking and Australian Research Council Professorial Fellow in the School of Information Technologies, The University of Sydney (2,676 votes)

The seven candidates who received the most votes will assume seats on the board starting in January 2015. The 21 members serve rotating three-year terms in groups of seven.

Candidates on the ballot are selected by the IEEE-CS Nominations Committee or by petition. The Nominations Committee accepts nominations from members until April of the current year and presents their nominations to the Board of Governors for final slate approval.

Results will also be published in the December issue of Computer.