2013 Technical Achievement Awards

Share this on:

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 3 April 2013 – The IEEE Computer Society is honoring five prominent technologists for their contributions with 2013 Technical Achievement Awards. This year’s award winners include:

  • Jan Camenisch, research staff member and project leader at IBM Research-Zurich;
  • Virgil D. Gligor, a Carnegie Mellon University electrical and computing engineering professor and co-director of the University’s CyLab;
  • Kian-Lee Tan, a professor of computer science at the National University of Singapore;
  • Eva Tardos, Jacob Gould Schurman Professor of Computer Science and senior associate dean of Computing and Information Science at Cornell University; and
  • Philip S. Yu, a professor and Wexler Chair in computer science at the University of Illinois at Chicago.

Camenisch, who holds a diploma in electrical engineering and a PhD in computer science from ETH Zurich, has been a research staff member and project leader at IBM Research-Zurich since 1999. Previously, he was a research assistant professor in computer science at the University of Aarhus, Denmark and technical leader of the European Union-funded online privacy projects PRIME and PrimeLife. His research interests include public key cryptography; cryptographic protocols, in particular those supporting privacy and anonymity; practical secure distributed computation; and privacy-enhancing technologies.

Gligor received his BS, MS, and PhD degrees from the University of California at Berkeley. He taught at the University of Maryland from 1976–2007, and is now a Professor at Carnegie Mellon University where is the co-Director of CyLab. He was a consultant to Burroughs and IBM, and has served on Microsoft’s Trusted Computing Academic Advisory Board since 2002, and SAP’s Security Advisory Board since 2011. He is the recipient of the NIST and NSA’s National Information Security Award, and ACM’s Outstanding Innovation Award.

Gligor’s research interests include access control mechanisms, penetration analysis, denial-of-service protection, cryptographic protocols, and applied cryptography. He has co-chaired many conferences and symposia, including the IEEE Security and Privacy Symposium, has served as editorial board member of several IEEE and ACM journals, and was previously editor in chief of IEEE Transactions on Dependable and Secure Computing.

An editorial board member of IEEE Transactions on Knowledge and Data Engineering, the WWW Journal, and the VLDB Journal, Tan received his BS, MS, and PhD in computer science from NUS. His research interest in database systems focuses on query processing and optimization in a wide range of domains, including parallel, distributed, peer-to-peer, multimedia, high-dimensional, main memory, spatial-temporal, wireless, and mobile databases. Tan has published over 300 research articles, co-authored several books, co-chaired numerous conferences, and was co-recipient of Singapore’s President Science Award in 2011.

Tardos, who received her BA and PhD from Eotvos University in Budapest, joined Cornell University in 1989. Tardos’ research interest is algorithms and algorithmic game theory, the subarea of theoretical computer science theory of designing systems and algorithms for selfish users. Tardos is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and a fellow of multiple societies. She is the recipient of a Packard Fellowship, the Fulkerson Prize, and the Goedel Prize. Tardos was editor in chief of SIAM Journal of Computing, is currently editor of several other journals, including the Journal of the ACM and Combinatorica; and has co-chaired many conferences.

Yu holds a BS in electrical engineering from National Taiwan University, an MS and PhD in electrical engineering from Stanford University, and an MBA from New York University. He spent most of his career at IBM, where he was manager of the Software Tools and Techniques group at the Watson Research Center.  He joined University of Illinois at Chicago in 2008. Yu’s research interest is on big data, including data mining, data streams, databases, and privacy.

The author of more than 720 papers, Yu holds or has applied for more than 250 US patents. A Fellow of IEEE and ACM, Yu serves as editor in chief of ACM Transactions on Knowledge Discovery from Data and was previously editor in chief of IEEE Transactions on Knowledge and Data Engineering. He received a Research Contributions Award from IEEE Intl. Conference on Data Mining and numerous recognitions from IBM, including two Outstanding Innovation Awards, an Outstanding Technical Achievement Award, two Research Division Awards and the 94th Plateau of Invention Achievement Award.

To be nominated for a Technical Achievement Award, the contributions must have been made in the past 10–15 years, and have significantly promoted technical progress in the field. IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Awards consist of a certificate and $2,000 honorarium. The 2013 TAA Subcommittee Chair is Elisa Bertino from Purdue University. The next nomination deadline is 15 October, 2013.

Read more information about the Technical Achievement Award.