2013 Computer Pioneer Award

Share this on:

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif. 10 June 2013 – IEEE Computer Society will recognize 10 accomplished technologists for their contributions to the field on Wednesday, 12 June at the Board of Governors meetings.

The individuals being honored at the annual awards dinner include 2013 Computer Pioneer Award recipients Stanford University Professor Emeritus Edward Feigenbaum, known as “the father of expert systems”; and Steve Furber, ICL Professor of Computer Engineering in the University of Manchester’s School of Computer Science and principal designer of the ARM 32-bit RISC microprocessor.

Brian G. Kiernan, recently retired vice president and chief scientist of InterDigital, received the Hans Karlsson Award for his contributions to standards development.

In the teaching arena, Nell B. Dale, one of the first women to earn a doctorate in computer science, was named the 2013 recipient of the IEEE Computer Society Taylor L. Booth Award for her contributions to computer science education. Robert J. Fornaro, a professor of computer science at North Carolina State University (NCSU), received the 2013 Computer Science and Engineering Undergraduate Teaching Award for his mentoring of students in award-winning engineering projects.

For their efforts promoting technological progress in the field, five researchers and professors received 2013 Technical Achievement Awards, including:

  • Jan Camenisch, research staff member and project leader at IBM Research-Zurich;
  • Virgil D. Gligor, a Carnegie Mellon University electrical and computing engineering professor and co-director of the University’s CyLab;
  • Kian-Lee Tan, a professor of computer science at the National University of Singapore;
  • Eva Tardos, Jacob Gould Schurman Professor of Computer Science and senior associate dean of Computing and Information Science at Cornell University; and
  • Philip S. Yu, a professor and Wexler Chair in computer science at the University of Illinois at Chicago.

Find out more about the IEEE Computer Society awards program.