Call for Nominations – IEEE Computer Society Awards Program

Share this on:

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 25 July 2019 – IEEE Computer Society’s renowned awards program announces nomination submittal date deadlines for its international and prestigious awards program known for recognizing excellence in the fields of computer science and technology accomplishments and achievements.

The IEEE Computer Society’s esteemed awards program recognizes both technical achievement and service to the Society, honoring outstanding innovations as well as leaders in technology.

Deadline for submitting nominations is 1 October 2019:

Charles Babbage Award –  A certificate and $1,000 honorarium are presented in recognition of significant contributions in the field of parallel computation. This award covers all aspects of parallel computing including computational aspects, novel applications, parallel algorithms, theory of parallel computation, parallel computing technologies, among others.

Computer Entrepreneur Award – A sterling silver chalice is awarded to managers and leaders that are responsible for the growth of some segment of the computer industry, or technical managers whose entrepreneurial leadership built the computer industry. The efforts must have taken place over fifteen years earlier, and the industry effects must be generally and openly visible.

Computer Pioneer Award –  A bronze medal is presented for significant contributions to concepts and developments in the electronic computer field which have clearly advanced the state of the art in computing. The contributions must have taken place fifteen or more years earlier. Up to two awards, counting co-awardees as a single award, may be presented annually.

Computer Science & Engineering Undergraduate Teaching Award – A certificate and $2,000 are awarded to recognize outstanding contributions to undergraduate education through both teaching and service and for helping to maintain interest, increase the visibility of the society, and make a statement about the importance with which we view undergraduate education.

Harry H. Goode Memorial Award – A bronze medal and $2,000 are awarded by the Computer Society on the basis of achievements in the information processing field which are considered either a single contribution of theory, design, or technique of outstanding significance, or the accumulation of important contributions on theory or practice over an extended time period, the total of which represent an outstanding contribution.

Hans Karlsson Standards Award –A plaque and $2,000 honorarium is presented in recognition of outstanding skills and dedication to diplomacy, team facilitation and joint achievement, in the development or promotion of standards in the computer industry where individual aspirations, corporate competition, and organizational rivalry could otherwise be counter to the benefit of society. This award was established in 1992 in memory of Hans Karlsson, chairman and father of the IEEE 1301 family of standards.

Harlan D. Mills Award – Established in Harlan D. Mills’ name to recognize researchers and practitioners who have demonstrated long-standing, sustained, and impactful contributions to software engineering practice and research through the development and application of sound theory.  The award consists of a $3,000 honorarium, museum-quality memento, and a possible invited talk during the week of the annual International Conference on Software Engineering (ICSE), co-sponsored by IEEE Computer Society Technical Council on Software Engineering (TCSE).

Richard E. Merwin Award for Distinguished Service – The highest level volunteer service award of the Computer Society. A bronze medal and $5,000 are given for outstanding service to the profession at large, including significant service to the Computer Society or its predecessor organizations.

Edward J. McCluskey Technical Achievement Award – A certificate and $2,000 honorarium are presented for outstanding and innovative contributions to the fields of computer and information science and engineering or computer technology, usually within the past ten, and not more than fifteen years. Up to four awards may be presented annually.

Taylor L. Booth Education Award – A bronze medal and $5,000 honorarium are awarded for an outstanding record in computer science and engineering education. The individual must meet two or more of the following criteria in the computer science and engineering field: 1. Achieving recognition as a teacher of renown; 2. Writing an influential text; 3. Leading, inspiring or providing significant education content during the creation of a curriculum in the field; and 4. Inspiring others to a career in computer science and engineering education.

Wallace McDowell Award – A certificate and $2,000 honorarium are presented for outstanding recent theoretical, design, educational, practical, or other similar innovative contributions that fall within the scope of Computer Society interest.

Nominate a worthy colleague for international recognition. Information for all awards and past winners is available at IEEE Computer Society Awards and Nominations, as well as IEEE Computer Society’s new nominations platform.

About IEEE Computer Society

The IEEE Computer Society is the world’s trusted community for computer science, engineering, and technology. Connecting members worldwide, the IEEE Computer Society empowers the people who advance technology by delivering tools for individuals at all stages of their professional career. Visit for more information.