IEEE CS 2019 Fellows

Share this on:
LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 12 December 2018 – Forty-nine IEEE Computer Society (IEEE-CS) members and 15 IEEE members evaluated by the IEEE-CS Fellow Evaluation Committee will be elevated to IEEE Fellow grade in 2019. The grade of Fellow recognizes unusual distinction in the profession.
The IEEE Board of Directors elevated 295 members to Fellow status for 2019, compared with296 for 2018. IEEE-CS members and associates recommended for Fellow status in 2019 include:
Edward Adelson— Massachusetts Institute of Technology- MIT
Michael Backes—Saarland University
Meng-fan Chang—National Tsing Hua University
Deming Chen—University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
Jong-Deok Choi—Seoul National University (SNU)
Paul Chow—University of Toronto
Peter Clout—Vista Control Systems, Inc.
Michael Condry—Intel Corporation
Kerstin Dautenhahn—University of Waterloo
Xiaotie Deng— Peking University
Meng Hwa Er— Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Joseph Evans— University of Kansas
Robert Fish—Netovations LLC
Dimitrios Fotiadis—University of Ioannina
Mark Fox—University of Toronto
Anne Gattiker—IBM, Inc.
Simson Garfinkel—U.S. Census Bureau
Anne Gattiker—IBM, Inc.
Mor Harchol-balter—Carnegie Mellon University
Ahmed Hassan—Queens University
Xiaodong He—Redmond Microsoft
Ahmed A-g Helmy—Redmond Microsoft
Gang Hua—Stevens Institute of Technology
Hans-arno Jacobsen—University of Toronto
Lee Jaejin—Seoul National University
Hai Jin—Huazhong University of Science & Technology
Irwin King—The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Farinaz Koushanfar— University of California, San Diego
Hai Li— Duke University
Shaoying Liu—Hosei University
Cristina Lopes— University of California-Irvine
Tim Menzies—North Carolina State University
Onur Mutlu—Swiss Federal Institute of Technology- ETH Zurich
Jason Nieh—Columbia University
Danilo Pau—STMicroelectronics
Srinivasan Ramani—International Institute of Information Technology Bangalore
Mary Ellen Randall—Ascot Technologies Inc.
Amit Roy-chowdhury—University of California, Riverside
Dan Rubenstein—Columbia University
Stuart Rubin—Space and Naval Warfare Systems Center
Rajiv Sabherwal—University of Arkansas
Kyuseok Shim— Seoul National University
Mei-ling Shyu— University of Miami
Ramesh Sitaraman—University of Massachusetts
Dawn Song—University of California, Berkeley
Chi-keung Tang—Hong Kong University Science & Technology
Jian Tang—Syracuse University
Zhuowen Tu—University of California, San Diego
Paul Vanoorschot—Carleton University
Xiaofeng Wang—Indiana University
Liang Wang—National Lab of Pattern Recognition
Simon Warfield—Boston Children’s Hospital
John Turner Whitted—NVIDIA Corporation
Zhaohui Wu—Zhejiang University
Eric Xing—Carnegie Mellon University
Ming-hsuan Yang—University of California at Merced
Xiaokang Yang—Shanghai Jiao Tong University
Hiroto Yasuura—Kyushu University
Moustafa Youssef—Egypt-Japan University of Science & Technology
Yizhou Yu—University of Hong Kong
Daqing Zhang—Peking University
Mengjie Zhang—Victoria University of Wellington
Lin Zhong—Rice University
Jingren Zhou— Alibaba Group
Lidong Zhou— Microsoft Research, Inc.
Michael Zyda—University of Southern California
The Board of Directors confers the title of Fellow upon a person of outstanding and extraordinary qualifications and experience in IEEE-designated fields, who has made important individual contributions to one or more of those fields.
For more information about the IEEE Fellow Program, visit
To view past Computer Society Fellow Class lists, visit:
At the time the nomination is submitted, a nominee must:
• have accomplishments that have contributed importantly to the advancement or application of engineering, science and technology, bringing the realization of significant value to society;
• hold Senior Member or Life Senior Member grade at the time the nomination is submitted;
• have been a member in good standing in any grade for a period of five years or more preceding 1 January of the year of elevation.
The nominee cannot be a member of the IEEE Fellow Committee, an IEEE Society/Technical Council Fellow Evaluating Committee Chair, or a member of IEEE Society/Technical Council Fellow Evaluating Committees reviewing the nomination.