2017 Goode Award

Share this on:

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 09 May 2017 – Kanianthra Mani Chandy, professor in the Department of Computing and Mathematical Sciences at Caltech, and Jayadev Misra, professor in the Department of Computer Science at the University of Texas at Austin, have been selected to receive the IEEE Computer Society 2017 Harry H. Goode Award “for seminal contributions to distributed and parallel programming, including the development of the UNITY formalism.”

The Goode Award was established to recognize achievements in the information processing field which are considered either a single contribution of theory, design, or technique of outstanding significance, or the accumulation of important contributions on theory or practice over an extended time period.

Dr. Kanianthra Mani Chandy is the Simon Ramo Professor Emeritus at the California Institute of Technology (Caltech). He has written books on performance modeling, concurrent programming, and event processing, as well as several papers on queuing networks, computer and communications performance modeling, distributed simulation, the development and verification of concurrent programs, compositional programming notations for parallel programs, and the detection of critical events from streams of data. Chandy received the A. A. Michelson Award from the Computer Measurement Group in 1985 for his work on computer performance modeling.

An IEEE Fellow since 1990, Chandy was inducted into the United States National Academy of Engineering in 1995 for “contributions to computer performance modeling, parallel discrete-event simulation, and systematic development of concurrent programs.” He received the IEEE Koji Kobayashi Award in 1996 for “fundamental contributions to the theory and practice of computer and communications performance modeling.” His paper on distributed global snapshots, with Leslie Lamport, was placed in the ACM Operating Systems “Hall of Fame” in 2013 and was awarded the ACM Edsger W. Dijkstra prize in 2014.

Chandy received a Bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras in 1965; an MS in electrical engineering from the Polytechnic Institute of New York in 1966; and a PhD in Operations Research from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1969. He taught at the University of Texas at Austin (UT) from 1969 to 1987, and at Caltech from 1987 to 2014. He served as chairman of the Computer Science department at UT and as Executive Officer at Caltech.

Dr. Jayadev Misra is the Schlumberger Centennial Chair Emeritus and University Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus at the University of Texas at Austin. He works in the area of concurrent programming with emphasis on rigorous methods to improve the programming process. His work on the UNITY methodology, jointly with Mani Chandy, has been influential in both academia and industry. He and Mani Chandy (and, independently, Randy Bryant) pioneered the area of distributed discrete event simulation.

Misra has been awarded the Doctor Honoris Causa by the Ecole Normale Superieure de Cachan, France, in 2010.  He is a distinguished alumnus of I.I.T., Kanpur, India. He was identified as a highly cited researcher by ISI, in 2004. He was a Guggenheim fellow during 1988-1989, the Strachey lecturer at Oxford University in 1996, and the Belgian FNRS International Chair of Computer Science in 1990. He is a member of the Academy of Distinguished Teachers at the University of Texas at Austin and was awarded the Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award, University of Texas, in 2010. He is a fellow of the ACM and IEEE.

Misra received his B. Tech from I.I.T., Kanpur, India in 1969 and Ph.D. from the Johns Hopkins University in 1972. He has been at the Computer Science Department of the University of Texas at Austin since 1974, as assistant, associate and full professor.  He was the chair of the department during 1994 to 1997.  Misra has been the past editor of several journals including: Computing Surveys, Journal of the ACM, Information Processing Letters and the Formal Aspects of Computing. He is the author of two books, “Parallel Program Design: A Foundation“, Addison-Wesley, 1988, co-authored with Mani Chandy, and “A Discipline of Multiprogramming“, Springer-Verlag, 2001.

The Goode Award consists of a bronze medal and a $2,000 honorarium. The award will be presented at the Computer Society annual awards ceremony to be held on Wednesday, 14 June 2017 in Phoenix, Arizona, USA.

Learn more about the Goode Award, including a list of past recipients.