Candidates Approved for 2017 IEEE Computer Society Election

Share this on:

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 11 July 2017 – The IEEE Computer Society (IEEE-CS) Board of Governors has approved the new slate of candidates for the IEEE-CS 2017 election.

Cecilia Metra and Hausi A. Müller will be on the ballot for 2018 president-elect and 2019 president. The president oversees IEEE CS programs and operations and is a nonvoting member of most Society program boards and committees.

Metra, a full professor at the University of Bologna, Italy, is a member of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors, serves as 2017 vice president of IEEE-CS Member and Geographic Activities, and has served as IEEE-CS secretary and vice president for the Technical and Conference Activities Board.

Müller is a professor of computer science and Associate Dean of Research, Faculty of Engineering at the University of Victoria, Canada, is a member of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors, and is vice president of the Technical and Conferences Activities Board for the second year.

A live Town Hall with the presidential candidates will take place on Wednesday 26 July at 1:00pm ET.

Candidates for 2018 first vice president are Gregory Byrd and Stefano Zanero. Byrd is a professor and Associate Head of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at North Carolina State University, is second vice president of the Publications Board, and was a member of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors. Zanero is an associate professor at Politecnico di Milano, cofounded Secure Network, has chaired the Italy IEEE-CS Chapter, and serves on the IEEE-CS Board of Governors.

The second vice president candidates are Dennis Frailey and Vladimir Getov. Frailey is a retired principal fellow from Raytheon Corporation and is a Senior Member of IEEE. He has served as a member of IEEE-CS Board of Governors, the IEEE-CS Professional Activities Board, and as vice chair of the IEEE-CS Educational Activities Board. Getov is a professor of distributed and high-performance computing; a research group leader and postgraduate program director at the University of Westminster, London; a member of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors; and a member-at-large of the IEEE-CS Publications Board and the Technical and Conference Activities Board.

The 12 candidates for 2018–2020 terms for the IEEE-CS Board of Governors are:

  • Edward A. Addy, Northrop Grumman
  • Hal Berghel, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
  • Andy Chen, Catronic Enterprise
  • Sven Dietrich, CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice
  • John Johnson, Excelsior College
  • Kinshuk, College of Information, University of North Texas
  • Sy-Yen Kuo, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
  • Ming C. Lin, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • David Lomet, Microsoft Research Redmond
  • Dimitrios Serpanos, University of Patras, Greece
  • Forrest Shull, Carnegie Mellon University, Software Engineering Institute (SEI)
  • Hayato Yamana, Waseda University, Tokyo, Japan

The seven candidates who receive the most votes will assume seats on the board starting in January 2018. Learn more about IEEE Computer Society elections and see Computer’s August 2017 issue for biographical sketches and candidate position statements for each nominee.