Prof. Pierangela Samarati Named to Receive IEEE Computer Society 2016 Technical Achievement Award

Share this on:

Pierangela SamaratiLOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 19 February 2016 — Pierangela Samarati, Professor at the Department of Computer Science, Università degli Studi di Milano, has been selected to receive the 2016 Technical Achievement Award “For pioneering and outstanding contributions to data security and privacy.”

Prof. Samarati’s main research interests are in data protection, privacy, security, and access control policies, models, languages.  She has coordinated and participated in several projects involving different aspects of information protection. On these topics she has published more than 240 peer-reviewed articles in international journals, conference proceedings, and book chapters. She is the Coordinator of the ESCUDO-CLOUD European project (H2020).

Prof. Samarati has been Computer Scientist in the Computer Science Laboratory at SRI, CA (USA). She has been a visiting researcher at the Computer Science Department of Stanford University, CA (USA), and at the Center for Secure Information Systems of George Mason University, VA (USA).

She is the chair of the IEEE Systems Council Technical Committee on Security and Privacy in Complex Information Systems (TCSPCIS), the ERCIM Security and Trust Management Working Group (STM), the Steering Committees of the European Symposium on Research in Computer Security (ESORICS), and the ACM Workshop on Privacy in the Electronic Society (WPES).

Prof. Samarati serves and has served in the editorial board of several journals, has participated in many Advisory Boards and Research Panels, and has been invited to deliver keynotes at several international events and lectures at international summer and winter schools.

An IEEE Fellow (named 2012) and ACM Distinguished Scientist (named 2009), Prof. Samarati has been awarded the IFIP WG 11.3 Outstanding Research Contributions Award (2012), and the IFIP TC11 Kristian Beckman Award (2008). View additional information for Prof. Samarati.

The IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Award is given for outstanding and innovative contributions to the fields of computer and information science and engineering or computer technology, usually within the past 10, and not more than 15, years. Contributions must have significantly promoted technical progress in the field.

The other 2016 award winners are Prof. Jason Cong, Dr. Patrick J. Flynn, Dr. Sushil Jajodia, and Dr. Yong Rui. Read more information about the Technical Achievement Award, including a list of past recipients.

The award consists of a certificate and a $2,000 honorarium.  The Computer Society plans to present this award at the annual awards ceremony on 8 June 2016 in Atlanta, Georgia, USA.