Dr. Patrick J. Flynn Selected to Receive IEEE Computer Society 2016 Technical Achievement Award

Share this on:

Patrick FlynnLOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 19 February 2016 — Dr. Patrick J. Flynn, IEEE Fellow, IAPR Fellow, and ACM Distinguished Scientist, has been selected to receive the IEEE Computer Society 2016 Technical Achievement Award “For pioneering techniques for biometric identification and for creating a world class multi-biometric image database.”

Dr. Flynn is the Duda Family Professor of Engineering, Professor of Computer Science & Engineering, and Concurrent Professor of Electrical Engineering at the University of Notre Dame.

His research interests include computer vision, biometrics, and image processing, and he has advised or co-advised eighteen Ph.D. dissertations, six postdoctoral scholarships, twenty-two M.S. theses, and two B.S. theses.

He is the editor-in-chief of the IEEE Biometrics Compendium, and is a past associate editor-in-chief of IEEE Transactions on PAMI, and a past associate editor of IEEE TIFS, IEEE TIP, IEEE TPAMI, Pattern Recognition, and Pattern Recognition Letters.

He has received outstanding teaching awards from Washington State University and the University of Notre Dame, and Meritorious Service, Golden Core, and Certificate of Appreciation awards from the IEEE Computer Society.

He has held faculty positions at Notre Dame (1990–1991, 2001–present), Washington State University (1991–1998), and The Ohio State University (1998–2001).  In 2007–2008, he held a visiting scientist appointment at the National Institute of Standards and Technology during a sabbatical leave.

Dr. Flynn received the B.S. in Electrical Engineering (1985), the M.S. in Computer Science (1986), and the Ph.D. in Computer Science (1990) from Michigan State University, East Lansing.

The IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Award is given for outstanding and innovative contributions to the fields of computer and information science and engineering or computer technology, usually within the past 10, and not more than 15, years. Contributions must have significantly promoted technical progress in the field.

The other 2016 award winners are Prof. Jason Cong, Dr. Sushil Jajodia, Dr. Yong Rui, and Prof. Pierangela Samarati. Further information about the award, including a list of past recipients, may be found at: https://computer.org/volunteering/awards/technical-achievement.

The award consists of a certificate and a $2,000 honorarium. The Computer Society plans to present this award at the annual awards ceremony on 8 June 2016 in Atlanta, Georgia, USA.