Twelve Past IEEE Computer Society Presidents to attend 39th Annual IEEE COMPSAC 2015

Unprecedented attendance of 12 past Computer Society Presidents marks historical event for the IEEE Computer Society
Share this on:

Los Alamitos, CA, 10 June 2015 – At the 39th Annual International Computer, Software and Applications Conference (COMPSAC), the Stephen S. Yau Academic Symposium will pay tribute to Founder and past President of COMPSAC, Professor Steven S. Yau. For this special event at COMPSAC 2015, twelve past IEEE Computer Society Presidents who have closely associated with COMPSAC in the past 39 years will attend, including many serving as organizers with active roles in the technical program.

COMPSAC 2015 is scheduled for July 1–5 at Tunghai University in Taichung, Taiwan. As listed on the conference web, attending presidents include:  Stephen S. Yau (1974–1975), Doris Carver (1998), Benjamin Wah (2001), Steve Diamond (2003), Carl K. Chang (2004), Michael Williams (2007), Sorel Reisman (2011), John Walz (2012), David Grier (2013), Dejan Milojicic (2014), Thomas Conte (2015), and Roger Fuji (2016).

The theme of this year’s COMPSAC is “Mobile and Cloud Systems — Challenges and Applications.” COMPSAC 2015 will provide a platform for in-depth discussions of challenges in emerging application domains such as smart and connected health, wearable computing, internet-of-things, cyber-physical systems, and smart planet. The technical program includes keynote addresses, research papers, industrial case studies, panel discussions, fast abstracts, student research symposium, poster sessions, and a number of workshops on emerging important topics.

COMPSAC, the IEEE Computer Society Signature Conference on Computers, Software and Applications, is one of the major international forums for academia, industry and government to discuss research results, advancements, and future trends in computer and software technologies and applications.

COMPSAC 2015 has attracted supports from academic institutions, Taiwanese Government agencies, and industry. Check the conference home page at for more information, including a list of organizing units and supporters.