Jean-Luc Gaudiot Voted 2016 IEEE Computer Society President-Elect

Share this on:

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 09 October 2015 — Jean-Luc Gaudiot, a Fellow of IEEE and a professor of electrical engineering and computer science at the University of California, Irvine, has been voted IEEE Computer Society 2016 President-Elect.

Vice President of the Publications Board for the past two years, Gaudiot will serve as the 2017 IEEE CS President for a one-year term beginning 1 January 2017. Gaudiot garnered 3,450 votes, compared with 2,570 votes cast for Hironori Kasahara, a Professor of Computer Engineering at Waseda University in Tokyo.

The President oversees IEEE-CS programs and operations and is a nonvoting member of most IEEE-CS program boards and committees. Of the ballots cast with a 12.68% percent turnout, 6,126 were submitted online and 113 by mail.

In balloting for First Vice President, David S. Ebert, IEEE CS’s current Second Vice President and a professor of electrical and computer engineering at Purdue University, was elected with 3,228 votes. Hausi A. Muller, member of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors and a professor of computer science and Associate Dean of Research, Faculty of Engineering, at the University of Victoria, Canada, garnered 2,676 votes.

Nita Patel, Systems and Software Engineering Director at L-3 Warrior Systems and a member of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors, was elected as Second Vice President with 3,362 votes, compared with 2,549 votes cast for Gregory T. Byrd, a professor and Associate Head of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at North Carolina State University and a member of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors.

The seven elected members of the Board of Governors for the term beginning 1 January 2016 were:

  • Cecilia Metra, University of Bologna, Italy (4,249 votes)
  • Ann DeMarle, Champlain College (4,154 votes)
  • Stefano Zanero, Politecnico di Milano University (3,011 votes)
  • Kunio Uchiyama, Hitachi, Ltd. (2,984 votes)
  • Fred Douglis, EMC Core Technologies Division (2,908 votes)
  • Bruce McMillin, Missouri University of Science and Technology (2,556 votes)
  • Vladimir Getov, University of Westminster, London (2,402 votes)

Results for other Board of Governors candidates were:

  • Andrew Wolfe, Wolfe Consulting (2,307 votes)
  • Hal Berghel, University of Nevada Las Vegas (2,260 votes)
  • Sven Dietrich, CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice (2,154 votes)
  • Shmuel Shottan, Hitachi Data Systems (2,079 votes)
  • Paul Nikolich, YAS Broadband Friends LLC (2,041 votes)

The seven candidates who received the most votes will assume seats on the board starting in January 2016. The 21 members serve rotating three-year terms in groups of seven.

Candidates on the ballot are selected by the IEEE-CS Nominations Committee or by petition. The Nominations Committee accepts nominations from members until April of the current year and presents their nominations to the Board of Governors for final slate approval.

Results will also be published in the December issue of Computer.