Social Networking Special Technical Community
A community and forum for practitioners and researchers in the area of Social Networking


The IEEE Computer Society Special Technical Community on Social Networking (STCSN) is the entry point for researchers and practitioners in social networking, fostering communication and interaction between people in the community. STCSN intends to be the agora for researchers with similar interests to meet and gather. In particular, this group is working towards technical co-sponsorships of scientific events (conferences, workshops, symposia, etc.), proposing special issues to renowned journals, regular E-Letter issues (including peer-reviewed original work), and monthly bulletin newsletters.

STCSN is interested in (but not limited to) the following topics:

Social network services, applications, and tools
Social computing and social search
Social multimedia and social communications
Mobile social networking
Social network analysis and visualization
Standardization trends and federated social Web initiatives
Business models around Social Networks and Social Media
Societal and policy issues (e.g., identity, privacy and data protection)
Social media mining and knowledge discovery
Scalable processing of social network data
Social semantic Web
User behavior studies with respect to social networks and social media
User interaction design for social networks and social media


Symeon Papadopoulos, CERTH Greece

E-Letter Board
Rene Kaiser (EiC), Know-Center, Austria
Yuhong Liu, Santa Clara University, USA
Thomas Gottron, Univ. of Koblenz-Landau, Germany
Symeon Papadopoulos, CERTH, Greece
Christian Timmerer, AAU, Austria

Steering Board
Martin Arlitt, HP Labs, USA
Symeon Papadopoulos, CERTH, Greece
Christian Timmerer, AAU, Austria

Bulletin Board
Suman Deb Roy (EiC), Betaworks, USA

Content Curator
Symeon Papadopoulos, CERTH, Greece
Ramesh Jain (SLN blog), University of California, Irvine, USA
Ralf Klamma, RWTH Aachen University, Germany

Conference Chair
Katayoun (Kate) Farrahi, Johannes Kepler University, Linz, Austria

Membership Co-Chairs
Chin-Wan Chung, KAIST,  Daejeon, Korea
Yuhong Liu, Penn State Altoona, USA

Rahul Raveendranath, College of Eng., Trivandrum, India

Members of the Board
Sagee Ben-Zedeff, Serendip Media, Israel
Ian S Burnett, UTS, Sydney, Australia
Alejandro Jaimes, Yahoo! Research Barcelona, Spain
Keith Mitchell, BBC, UK
Jérôme Picault, Alcatel-Lucent Bell Labs, France
Raphaël Troncy, EURECOM, France
Rong Yan, Facebook, USA

Student Members of EB
Nithin George, RIT, Kottayam, India