Mateo Valero

Award Recipient
Share this on:

Mateo Valero, is a professor in the Computer Architecture Department at UPC, in Barcelona. His research interest focuses on high performance architectures. He has published approximately 600 papers, has served in the organization of more than 300 International Conferences and he has given more than 500 invited talks. He is the director of the Barcelona Supercomputing Centre, the National Centre of Supercomputing in Spain.

Prof. Valero has been honored with several awards. Among them, the IEEE Computer Society ACM Eckert-Mauchly Award, the IEEE Computer Society Harry Goode Award, ACM Distinguished Service Award, Euro-Par Achievement Award, the “King Jaime I” in basic research and two Spanish National Awards: “Julio Rey Pastor” award, in recognition of research on Informatics and/or Mathematics and “Leonardo Torres Quevedo” award on Engineering. He has been named Honorary Doctor by the Spanish Universities of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Zaragoza, Complutense de Madrid and Cantabria and by the University of Chalmers in Sweden, the University of Belgrade in Serbia and by the University of Veracruz in Mexico. “Hall of the Fame” member of the IST European Program (selected as one of the 25 most influents European researchers in IT during the period 1983–2008. Lyon, November 2008.)

In December 1994, Prof. Valero became a founding member of the Royal Spanish Academy of Engineering. In 2005, he was elected Correspondant Academic of the Spanish Royal Academy of Science; in 2006, member of the Royal Spanish Academy of Doctors; in 2008, member of the Academia Europaea; and in 2012, Correspondant Academic of the Mexican Academy of Sciences. He is a Fellow of the IEEE, Fellow of the ACM, and an Intel Distinguished Research Fellow.

Learn more about Mateo Valero.



2017 IEEE Computer Society Charles Babbage Award
“For contributions to parallel computation through brilliant technical work, mentoring PhD students, and building an incredibly productive European research environment.”
Learn more about the Babbage Award

2015 Seymour Cray Award 
“In recognition of seminal contributions to vector, out-of-order, multithreaded, and VLIW architectures.”
Learn more about the Seymour Cray Award

2009 Harry H. Goode Award 
“In recognition of seminal contribution to vector, out-of-order, multithreaded, and VLIW processor architectures.”
Learn more about the Harry H. Goode Award 

2007 Eckert-Mauchly Award 
“For extraordinary leadership in building a world class computer architecture research center, for seminal contributions in the areas of vector computing and multithreading, and for pioneering basic new approaches to instruction-level parallelism.”
Learn more about the Eckert-Mauchly Award