Manish Parashar

Award Recipient
Share this on:

Manish Parashar is Director of the Scientific Computing and Imaging (SCI) Institute, Chair in Computational Science and Engineering, and Presidential Professor in the Kalhert School of Computing at the University of Utah.

Manish’s academic career has focused on translational computer science with a specific emphasis on computational and data-enabled science and engineering, and has addressed key conceptual, technological, and educational challenges. His research is in the broad area of parallel and distributed computing, and he has investigated conceptual models, programming abstractions, and implementation architectures that can enable new insights through large-scale computations and data in a range of domains. His contributions include innovations in data structures and algorithms, programming abstractions and systems, and systems for runtime management and optimization, and he has developed and deployed software systems based on his research. He has also deployed and operated large scale production systems, such as the cyberinfrastructure for the NSF Ocean Observatories Initiative.

Manish recently completed an IPA appointment at the US National Science Foundation (NSF), serving as Office Director of the NSF Office of Advanced Cyberinfrastructure. At NSF, he oversaw strategy and investments in national cyberinfrastructure and led the development of NSF’s strategic vision for a National Cyberinfrastructure Ecosystem and blueprints for key cyberinfrastructure investments. He also served as Co-Chair of the National Science and Technology Council’s Subcommittee on the Future Advanced Computing Ecosystem (FACE) and the National Artificial Intelligence Research Resource (NAIRR) Task Force. In 2002, Manish served as Assistant Director for Strategic Computing at the Whitehouse Office of Science and Technology Policy, where he led strategic planning for the Nation’s Future Advanced Computing Ecosystem, and the formulation of the National Strategic Computing Reserve (NSCR) concept.

Manish is the founding chair of the IEEE Technical Community on High Performance Computing (TCHPC), and is Fellow of AAAS, ACM, and IEEE. For more information, please visit


2023 Sidney Fernbach Memorial Award
“For contributions to distributed high-performance computing systems and applications, data-driven workflows, and translational impact.”
Learn more about the Sidney Fernbach Memorial Award