Debendra Das Sharma

Award Recipient
Share this on:

Dr. Debendra Das Sharma is an Intel Senior Fellow and co-GM of Memory and I/O Technologies, Data Platforms and Artificial Intelligence Group, at Intel Corporation. He is a leading expert on I/O subsystem and interface architecture. He delivers Intel-wide critical interconnect technologies in Peripheral Component Interconnect Express (PCIe), Compute Express Link (CXL), Universal Chiplet Interconnect Express (UCIe), and Intel’s Coherency interconnect, as well as their implementation.

Dr. Das Sharma is a member of the Board of Directors and treasurer for the PCI Special Interest Group (PCI-SIG). He has been a lead contributor to PCIe specifications since its inception. He is the co-inventor of CXL and a founding member of the CXL consortium. He co-leads the CXL Board Technical Task Force, and is a leading contributor to CXL specifications. He co-invented the chiplet interconnect standard UCIe and is the chair of the UCIe consortium.

Dr. Das Sharma has a bachelor’s in technology (with honors) degree in Computer Science and Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur and a Ph.D. in Computer Engineering from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst. He holds 190+ US patents and 500+ patents world-wide. He is a frequent keynote/ plenary speaker, distinguished lecturer, invited speaker, and panelist at the IEEE International Test Conference, IEEE Hot Interconnects, IEEE Cool Chips, IEEE 3DIC, SNIA SDC, PCI-SIG Developers Conference, CXL consortium, Open Server Summit, Open Fabrics Alliance, Flash Memory Summit, Intel Innovation, and Universities (CMU, Texas A&M, Georgia Tech, UIUC, UC Irvine). He has been awarded the Distinguished Alumnus Award from Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur in 2019, the IEEE Region 6 Outstanding Engineer Award in 2021, the first PCI-SIG Lifetime Contribution Award in 2022, the IEEE Circuits and Systems Industrial Pioneer Award in 2022, and the IEEE Computer Society Edward J. McCluskey Technical Achievement Award in 2024.


2024 Edward J. McCluskey Technical Achievement Award
“For architectural innovations driving open composable systems at package, node, Rack, and Pod levels with PCI-Express, CXL, and UCIe standards.”
Learn more about the Edward J. McCluskey Technical Achievement Award