IEEE Computer Society Names 2011 Technical Achievement Winners

Share this on:

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 8 March, 2011 – Five technologists who have made outstanding and innovative contributions to the fields of computer and information science and engineering or computer technology will be recipients of 2011 IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Awards.

The recipients are:

  • Frederica Darema, Air Force Office of Scientific Research
  • Ronald Fagin, IBM Almaden Research Center
  • Jose Garcia-Luna-Aceves, University of California, Santa Cruz/Palo Alto Research Center
  • Johannes Gehrke, Cornell University
  • Liang-Jie Zhang, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center

Darema is director of mathematics, information, and life sciences at the Air Force Office of Scientific Research. She is a graduate of the University of Athens, the Illinois Institute of Technology, and the University of California at Davis, where she attended as a Fulbright Scholar and a Distinguished Scholar.

After physics research associate positions at the University of Pittsburgh and Brookhaven National Laboratory, she became a technical staff member in the Nuclear Sciences Department at Schlumberger-Doll Research. She joined the T.J. Watson IBM Research Center as a research staff member and group manager and also served in the IBM Corporate Strategy Group.

From 1996 to 1998, she completed a two-year interagency assignment at the US Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency. Prior to her current assignment, Darema was senior science and technology adviser and senior science analyst at the US National Science Foundation.

Fagin is manager of the Foundations of Computer Science group at the IBM Almaden Research Center, and is a member of the IBM Academy of Technology. He received his B.A. in mathematics from Dartmouth College, and his PhD in mathematics from the University of California at Berkeley. He is a Fellow of AAAS, ACM, and IEEE.

Garcia-Luna-Aceves received a BS in electrical engineering from the Universidad Iberoamericana in Mexico City in 1977, and an MS and PhD in electrical engineering from the University of Hawaii at Manoa in 1980 and 1983, respectively. He holds the Jack Baskin Endowed Chair of Computer Engineering at the University of California, Santa Cruz, is chair of the Computer Engineering Department, and is a principal scientist at the Palo Alto Research Center. Prior to joining UCSC, he was a center director at SRI International. He has been a visiting professor at Sun Laboratories and a principal of protocol design at Nokia. His research focuses on computer communication.

Garcia-Luna-Aceves is a Fellow of IEEE, AAAS, and ACM, and is listed in “Marquis Who’s Who in America” and “Who’s Who in The World.” He holds 35 US patents, has published three books, and more than 400 journal and conference papers, and has supervised more than 30 PhD dissertations.

Gehrke is a computer science professor at Cornell University. His research interests are in the areas of database systems, data mining, and data privacy. Gehrke has received a National Science Foundation Career Award, an Arthur P. Sloan Fellowship, an IBM Faculty Award, the Cornell College of Engineering James and Mary Tien Excellence in Teaching Award, the Cornell University Provost’s Award for Distinguished Scholarship, a Faculty Development Award from the New York State Foundation for Science, Technology, and Innovation, and a Humboldt Research Award from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation.

With Raghu Ramakrishnan, he co-authored the undergraduate textbook “Database Management Systems” (McGraw-Hill, 2002), used at universities all over the world. Gehrke is also an adjunct faculty member at the University of Tromsø in Norway, and he is a visiting researcher at the Max Planck Institute for Software Systems. From 2007 to 2008, he was chief scientist at FAST, a Microsoft subsidiary.

Zhang is a senior vice president, chief scientist, and director of research at Kingdee International Software Group. Prior to this position, he was a research staff member and program manager of application architectures and realization at IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, where he led the R&D of the custom solution engagement cloud. He was also the worldwide leader of IBM’s SOMA Modeling Environment.

Zhang, editor-in-chief of IEEE Transactions on Services Computing, received an Outstanding Achievement Award from the World Academy of Sciences, and an Innovation Leadership Award from Chinese Institute of Electronics. He holds 40 patents and more than 20 pending patent applications. Zhang received his PhD in Pattern Recognition and Intelligent Control from Tsinghua University. He is an IEEE Fellow and an ACM Distinguished Scientist.

The awards will be handed out Wednesday, 25 May at a dinner held in the recipients’ honor.

To be nominated for a Technical Achievement Award, the contributions must have been made in the past 10-15 years, and have significantly promoted technical progress in the field. The award consists of a certificate and $2,000 honorarium. The next nomination deadline is 15 October, 2011.


About IEEE Computer Society
IEEE Computer Society is the world’s leading membership organization for professionals in all aspects of modern computing – from cloud to big data, security to mobile, robotics to software defined systems, wearables to IoT. A true community for technology leaders, Computer Society provides resources to keep its members current in technology and moving forward in their professions – publications, a renowned digital library, a vast program of conferences, technical committees, and much more. The Computer Society also serves the profession at large through establishment of standards, professional qualifications and certifications, training and education programs, events on leading-edge technologies, conference publishing, and a wealth of other services and programs focused on advancing the science and art of computing. More information on IEEE Computer Society can be found at