2022 IEEE CS Election Results Announced

Results announced for all newly elected IEEE CS leadership positions
Published 09/13/2022
Share this on:

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 19 September 2022 – The IEEE Computer Society (IEEE CS) today announces that Jyotika Athavale, a senior technical leader in automotive functional safety at NVIDIA, has been voted IEEE CS 2023 president-elect (2024 president).  

Jyotika Athavale is a Senior IEEE Member and experienced leader and influencer in emerging technologies and international standardization initiatives and is currently serving as Secretary and Distinguished Visitor of the Computer Society. At NVIDIA, Athavale drives automotive functional safety architectures, capability development, methodologies and pathfinding initiatives for autonomous driving and avionics.  Prior to NVIDIA, she was Principal Engineer at Intel Corporation where she led functional safety platform architecture for Automotive and Avionics.

She will serve as the 2024 IEEE CS president for a one-year term beginning 1 January 2024. The president oversees IEEE CS programs and operations and is a nonvoting member of most IEEE CS program boards and committees.

Athavale garnered 2,808 votes, compared with 1,982 votes cast for David S. Ebert, Associate Vice President for Research and Partnerships, Gallogly Chair Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, and director of the Data Institute for Societal Challenges at the University of Oklahoma.

The 2022 election had a 14.10% turnout with 4,945 ballots cast. The turnout percentage was slightly higher than the 2021 election which had a 14.01% turnout (5,238 ballots cast) and was lower than the 2020 election, which had a turnout of 16.36% (6,620 ballots cast).


Hironori Washizaki, a Professor and the Associate Dean of the Research Promotion Division at Waseda University in Tokyo and a Visiting Professor at the National Institute of Informatics, was elected first vice president with 2,643 votes. Gregory T. Byrd, a Professor and Associate Head in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at North Carolina State University, garnered 2,123 votes.


Grace A. Lewis, a Principal Researcher at the Carnegie Mellon Software Engineering Institute (SEI) and principal investigator for the Automating Mismatch Detection and Testing in Machine Learning Systems project, was elected second vice president with 3,480 votes. Ramalatha Marimuthu, Director, iExplore Foundation for Sustainable Development, and on-ground researcher with a specialization in Embedded Systems and VLSI, garnered 1,253 votes.


The six elected members of the Board of Governors for the term beginning 1 January 2023 are:

  • İlkay Altintaş, San Diego Supercomputer Center (2,847 votes)
  • Nils Aschenbruck, Universität Osnabrück (2,336 votes)
  • Mike Hinchey, University of Limerick (1,936 votes)
  • Joaquim Jorge, University of Lisbon (2,163 votes)
  • Rick Kazman, University of Hawaii (1,968 votes)
  • Carolyn McGregor, Ontario Tech University (3,163 votes)

Results for other Board of Governors candidates:

  • Ümit V. Çatalyürek, Georgia Institute of Technology (1,291 votes)
  • Ernesto Cuadros-Vargas, Universidad Católica San Pablo, Peru (1,887 votes)
  • Samee U. Khan, Mississippi State University (1,361 votes)
  • Shaoshan Liu, PerceptIn (1,641 votes)
  • Andre Oboler, Online Hate Prevention Institute (1,369 votes)
  • George K. Thiruvathukal, Loyola University Chicago (1,698 votes)

Candidates on the ballot are selected by the IEEE CS Nominations Committee or by petition. The Nominations Committee accepts nominations from members until March of the current year and presents its nominations to the Board of Governors for final slate approval.

Results of the 2022 IEEE CS election will be published in the December issue of Computer.

About the IEEE Computer Society

The IEEE Computer Society is the world’s home for computer science, engineering, and technology. A global leader in providing access to computer science research, analysis, and information, the IEEE Computer Society offers a comprehensive array of unmatched products, services, and opportunities for individuals at all stages of their professional careers. Known as the premier organization that empowers the people who drive technology, the IEEE Computer Society offers international conferences, peer-reviewed publications, a unique digital library, and training programs. Visit computer.org for more information.