Cecilia Metra Voted 2018 IEEE Computer Society President-Elect

Share this on:

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 02 October 2017 – Cecilia Metra, a full professor at the University of Bologna, Italy and member of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors, has been voted IEEE Computer Society 2018 President-elect.

Metra, a 2017 Vice President of IEEE-CS Member and Geographic Activities and past IEEE-CS secretary and Vice President for the Technical and Conference Activities Board, will serve as the 2019 IEEE-CS President for a one-year term beginning 2019.

Metra garnered 3,587 votes, compared with 1,936 votes cast for Hausi A. Mϋller, a professor of computer science and Associate Dean of Research, Faculty of Engineering at the University of Victoria, Canada, member of IEEE-CS Board of Governors, and vice president of the Technical and Conferences Activities Board.

The President oversees IEEE-CS programs and operations and is a nonvoting member of most IEEE-CS program boards and committees. The 2017 election had a 12.87% turnout, with 5,684 ballots cast. The percentage of turnout was higher than the 2016 election with a 12.69% turnout (6,357 ballots cast) and the 2015 election with a 12.68% turnout (6,239 ballots cast).

In balloting for First Vice President, Gregory T. Byrd, a professor and Associate Head of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC, and 2017 Second Vice President of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors, was elected with 3,170 votes. Stefano Zanero, an associate professor at Politecnico di Milano, cofounder of Secure Network, member of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors and past chair of the Italy IEEE-CS Chapter, garnered 2,245 votes.

Dennis J. Frailey, a retired principal fellow from Raytheon Corporation, Senior Member of IEEE and past member of IEEE-CS Board of Governors, was elected as Second Vice President with 3,040 votes. Vladimir Getov, a professor of distributed and high-performance computing, research group leader and postgraduate program director at the University of Westminster, London, and member of the IEEE-CS Board of Governors, garnered 2,255 votes.

The seven elected members of the Board of Governors for the term beginning 1 January 2018 are:

  • David Lomet, Microsoft Research Redmond (3,345 votes)
  • Forrest Shull, Carnegie Mellon University, Software Engineering Institute (SEI) (3,090 votes)
  • Hayato Yamana, Waseda University, Tokyo (2,930 votes)
  • Dimitrios Serpanos, University of Patras, Greece (2,766 votes)
  • Sy-Yen Kuo, National Taiwan University (NTU) (2,649 votes)
  • John Johnson, Excelsior College (2,591 votes)
  • Andy Chen, Catronic Enterprise (2,545 votes)

Results for other Board of Governors candidates:

  • Sven Dietrich, CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice (2,501 votes)
  • Hal Berghel, University of Nevada, Las Vegas (2,347 votes)
  • Edward A. Addy, Northrop Grumman (2,225 votes)
  • Kinshuk, College of Information, University of North Texas (1,875 votes)

The seven candidates who received the most votes will assume seats on the board starting in January 2018. The 21 members serve rotating three-year terms in groups of seven.

Candidates on the ballot are selected by the IEEE-CS Nominations Committee or by petition. The Nominations Committee accepts nominations from members until April of the current year and presents their nominations to the Board of Governors for final slate approval.

For additional election information, visit our election results page. Results will also be published in the December issue of Computer.